• U.P. Baseball 6/19: Marquette at Gladstone
  • Menominee at Escanaba
  • Iron Mountain at Gladstone
  • Marquette vs Bark River
  • Bark River at Escanaba
4153 articles
Saturday June 6, 2020
Free Throws, Rebounding Cost Bay Women, 69-65

COON RAPIDS, Minn.---The Bay College women’s basketball team made just 13 of 31 points and were outrebounded on the offensive glass on Saturday as the Norse fell to the Western Tech (Wis.)  Cavaliers, 69-65, at a tournament hosted by Anoka-Ramsey Community College in Minnesota.

The Norse led, 51-47, after three quarters but the Cavaliers went on a 16-4 run in the fourth quarter to beat the Norse for the second time this season. The earlier meeting was 74-45, so this one was much closer, with the Norse having a chance to win in the final minute before eventually falling.

“We win this game going away if we shoot even 50-percent from the line,” Norse Coach Rob Robinson said. “We can’t miss 20 free throws and expect to win. It was definitely weird. Seventeen offense rebounds. That was what we talked about after the last time.”

The Norse trailed, 18-14, after the first quarter before Kelsea Ackerman hit three triples and Brooke Dalgord sank a three from the corner in the second quarter to close the gap to 35-34 at the half.

In the third quarter, the Norse grabbed their first lead with 3:08 left as Cierra Molina got a steal and a basket to make it 43-41.

Trish McGuire sank a triple to make it 46-43 with two minutes left, Kaitlyn Hardwick drove the baseline for a basket to make it 49-45, and Taylor Hunter had an “and-one” basket to give Bay the 51-47 lead going into the fourth quarter.

But Lexi Schmidtknecht keyed the big run with a four-point play on a triple and foul, and she led all scorers with 24 points. Makenna Gabel added 12.

The Norse had ten of their 12 players score, but only one reached double figures, as Kelsea Ackerman had ten points. Dalgord had seven points and seven rebounds.

“I think we have players who are tired,” Robinson said. “So, hopefully, after tomorrow, we get a break, have a few days off. But free throws and offensive rebounds. We have players who work hard, we just don’t hear sometimes. So, I have to figure out how to get the message across.”

Western Tech improved to 9-2 while Bay College fell to 9-4 on the season.

The Norse take on Anoka-Ramsey in their final game of 2019 on Sunday. Game time is 5:00 ET/4:00 CT. It will be broadcast live on Maverick 106.3 FM and radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS above to see photos and videos, and hear Robinson’s post-game interview. Also, listen to Madison Olsen’s player spotlight interview.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



NOT DONE YET: Dalgord To Suit Up For Finlandia
Tuesday May 12, 2020
Gregory Named Bay College Women's Hoops Coach
Friday March 27, 2020
PLAYOFF UPSET: Norse Women Lose To Gogebic
Wednesday February 26, 2020
Norse Women Break Century Mark In Chicago Win
Saturday February 15, 2020
WIRE TO WIRE WIN: Bay Women Win In Chicago
Friday February 14, 2020
Norse Women Whip Samsons; Clinch Home Court
Wednesday February 12, 2020
Norse Women Overwhelmed By Bryant & Stratton
Saturday February 8, 2020
Bay Makes Women's Basketball Coaching Change
Thursday February 6, 2020
Big First Half Propels Bobcats Past Norse Women
Saturday February 1, 2020
COMING UP EMPTY: Norse Women Fall To Lions
Wednesday January 29, 2020
CANCER BEGONE: Norse, Lions Raise Awareness
Monday January 27, 2020
Finlandia Outlasts Bay College In Defensive Battle
Saturday January 25, 2020
Bay College Women Roll To Easy 106-12 Road Win
Sunday January 19, 2020
HOLDING SERVE: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic, 64-52
Wednesday January 15, 2020
Bay College Women Pull Out 57-51 Win In Alpena
Saturday January 11, 2020
DEFENSIVE STRUGGLE: Norse Women Fall 51-46
Tuesday January 7, 2020
THIRD TIME'S THE CHARM: Norse Stop Cavaliers
Saturday January 4, 2020
Norse Women Roll Past Sault College To Start 2020
Friday January 3, 2020
ANOTHER CLOSE LOSS: Norse Women Fall, 65-60
Sunday December 22, 2019
WEATHERING THE STORM: Norse Women Win
Sunday December 15, 2019
CRUISE CONTROL: Bay Women Top Harper, 56-5
Saturday December 14, 2019
Late Norse Rally Comes Up Short Vs No. 14 Lakers
Saturday December 7, 2019
Norse Women Can't Hold Leads; Fall In Port Huron
Friday December 6, 2019
Trudell Sinks Seven Triples As Bay Grinds Out Win
Monday November 25, 2019
Norse Women Pull Away From Stormers On Road
Friday November 22, 2019
STAYING HOME: Englund Signs To Play For Norse
Tuesday November 19, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Norse Shut Down UW-Marinette
Monday November 18, 2019
Bay College Basketball Announce Schedule Changes
Thursday November 7, 2019
NORCE FORCE: Bay Ladies Sweep Opening Games
Sunday November 3, 2019
EXHIBITION HOOPS: Northern Runs Past Norse
Sunday October 20, 2019