• U.P. Baseball 6/19: Marquette at Gladstone
  • Menominee at Escanaba
  • Iron Mountain at Gladstone
  • Marquette vs Bark River
  • Bark River at Escanaba
4153 articles
Saturday June 6, 2020
DEFENSIVE WOES: Norse Fall To Rochester Tech

COON RAPIDS, Minn.---The Bay College Norse men’s basketball team had a hard time defending the many weapons of the Rochester Community Technical College Yellow Jackets Saturday night in Minnesota, falling 95-86 at a tournament hosted by Anoka-Ramsey Community College. The Norse had a four-point lead at halftime, but turned the ball over on four straight possessions in the second half, got into severe foul trouble, fell behind by as many as 12 points.

Bay closed to within four at 77-73 with 4:34 to play on a Marcus Harris three-pointer, but could get no closer, as Ryan Robinette, Chris Dobessi, and Xaviel Fields all fouled out of the contest.

"As much as the offensive side of things was bad, when you score 86 points, we should be able to win a basketball game," Norse Coach Matt Johnson said. "We didn't. We were really, really bad on the defensive end. That end just has to get better. We had some pretty uncharacteristic games by a couple of our go-to guys."

In the first half, the Norse withstood the torrid three-point shooting of Karmoga Lero, who knocked down six triples and scored 20 first half points. But the Norse carried a 44-40 lead into the locker room because Christian Alexander was hard to handle inside, getting 14 points and 12 rebounds in the first 20 minutes. Harris launched a high-arching, buzzer-beating triple to send the team celebrating into the locker room.

But Bay’s defensive problems, and bad cross-court passes on offense, cost them dearly for a ten minute stretch in the second half. On one play, Lero was fouled while shooting a triple and made all three of his free throws. He would up with a game-high 26 points, and from there, it was Ray Adams who torched the Norse. He scored 15 of his 20 points in the second half, including a pair of triples right after Bay scored on the other end.

The killer came with 4:25 left when he sank a triple just nine seconds after Harris had cut it to 77-73. That made it 80-73, and after the Norse got one free throw to make it 80-74, Kong Kong had a basket and foul to make it 83-74. He had 17 points and eight rebounds as the Yellow Jackets beat the Norse for the second time this season.

Alexander received his third foul and had to sit for about four minutes, and that's when the Yellow Jackets (9-1) built their lead.

Alexander ended up with 20 points and 14 rebounds, with six of those points and two boards coming after halftime.

Harris, the Brimley High School graduate who's getting stronger after last year's ACL injury, was a bright spot for Bay. He had 15 points, making four of his five shot attempts, three of them triples. Alexander was 7-for-11 from the floor and 6-for-11 at the foul line, and Matt Wagner scored 16 points on 5-of-9 shooting (three triples).

"It was ugly all around," said Johnson, who joked that the game took six-and-a-half hours. "Their kids outplayed ours. The officiating was probably the worst I've seen all year, and it had nothing to do with the outcome of the game at all."

"We had to shut down the scoreboard. We had a couple of inadvertent whistles by the officials and scoreboard buzzers. It was not pretty. Brian (LaPlante) outcoached me. It was a long, ugly day, and hopefully, tomorrow goes a lot smoother."

The Norse fell to 7-6 on the season and will face the host Anoka-Ramsey Golden Rams Sunday afternoon to close out 2019. Game time is 3:00 ET/2:00 CT and it will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 FM and radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and video clips, and hear Johnson's post-game comments. Also click to listen to Tyler Beauchamp's player spotlight interview.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



COACH 'YO: Bay College Grad To Join NMU Staff
Saturday May 9, 2020
BIG BRIT MAKES BIG MOVE: Alexander Goes D-1
Friday May 1, 2020
Alexander, Hardwick Named To All-Regional Team
Friday April 17, 2020
END OF THE LINE: Bay Men Eliminated By DCTC
Wednesday February 26, 2020
Bay College Men Hold Off Truman College, 71-64
Saturday February 15, 2020
WINDY CITY WIN: Norse Grind Past Daley College
Friday February 14, 2020
Bay Men Overwhelm Gogebic; Sweep Season Series
Wednesday February 12, 2020
OUTGUNNED: Second Half Drought Dooms Norse
Saturday February 8, 2020
Comeback Falls Short For Norse Men's Basketball
Saturday February 1, 2020
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Men Dominate Finlandia
Wednesday January 29, 2020
Fast Start Helps Norse Overwhelm Finlandia, 97-78
Saturday January 25, 2020
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Top Junior Lakers, 98-75
Sunday January 19, 2020
HEARTBREAKING LOSS: Norse Fall By One Point
Saturday January 18, 2020
Wagner, Norse Beat Gogebic With Big Second Half
Wednesday January 15, 2020
BAY'S BIG BRIT: Alexander Has Eye On Next Level
Monday January 13, 2020
Bay College Mens Basketball Strolls Past Alpena CC
Saturday January 11, 2020
Norse Rally For Big Road Win In Minnesota, 80-76
Wednesday January 8, 2020
Wagner Clutch As Bay Men Beat Sault College 81-77
Friday January 3, 2020
Robinette, Norse Bounce Back To Win In Minnesota
Sunday December 22, 2019
No. 8 Milwaukee Tech Men Roll Past Norse, 98-82
Sunday December 15, 2019
TUNE-UP VICTORY: Bay Tops Hawks; MATC Next
Saturday December 14, 2019
DOUBLE OT THRILLER: Norse Top Lakers, 95-90
Sunday December 8, 2019
Norse Men's Basketball Dominated Downstate
Friday December 6, 2019
Gogebic Lindquist Tournament Games Cancelled
Friday November 29, 2019
ROLLIN' RYAN: Robinette Threes Lead Bay, 90-67
Thursday November 28, 2019
STORM WARNING: Milwaukee Tech Beats Norse
Friday November 22, 2019
Norse Open Home Season With Win Over JV Lakers
Sunday November 17, 2019
BOUNCING BACK: Guards Lead Norse To Victory
Sunday November 3, 2019
Norse Men Set To Open 2019-'20 Season Downstate
Thursday October 31, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Northern Pulls Away From Bay
Friday October 25, 2019