• College Softball 3/13: Bay College 9, Chesapeake (Maryland) 1
  • College Baseball 3/13: Bay College 3, Northwestern Minnesota 0
4111 articles
Saturday March 28, 2020
THIRD TIME'S THE CHARM: Norse Stop Cavaliers

ESCANABA---The Bay College women’s basketball team picked up its biggest win of the season Saturday night, beating the Western Tech Cavaliers, 65-49, in the championship game of the Quality Inn & Suites Tournament in Escanaba.

The Norse had lost twice to the Cavaliers this season, including once in LaCrosse by 29 points on Nov. 9. Bay then lost to Western Tech on a neutral court in Minnesota, 69-65, just before Christmas, when they made only 13 of 31 free throw attempts.

So on Saturday, the Norse had extra incentive to do things the right way, and for three-plus quarters, it was a nailbiter before the Bay defense clamped down and Trisha McGuire took over on offense. And the foul line for friendly for a change.

The Norse led just 39-38 entering the fourth quarter, and after Western Tech’s Jaclyn Freit scored on a layup with 5:48 left in the game, Bay’s lead was just 50-48.

Who knew that the Norse would outscore Western Tech the rest of the game, 15-1?

And who knew that they would do much of the damage at the free throw line, which had let them down in the previous matchup.

Holly Wardynski, Marissa Ackerman, and Kaitlyn Hardwick all went to the line and sank both of their free throws down the stretch. And McGuire scored nine of her game-high 18 points in the fourth quarter.

As a team, Bay made 15 of 17 free throw attempts. The Norse also made 8-of-28 three-point attempts, while the Cavaliers struggled to make only 2-of-16 triple tries.

Western Tech’s Lexi Schmidtknecht, who had burned the Norse in both previous match-ups, was quiet on Saturday, scoring just seven points. The Cavaliers fell to 10-4 on the season.

Bay College (11-5) got eleven points from Wardynski and Hardwick to go along with McGuire’s 18 points.

JuliAnn Wickman added seven points and seven rebounds, and Dalgord had nine boards.

In the third place game, Gogebic Community College beat Sault College (Ontario), 89-57.

The Norse travel to Minnesota on Tuesday for a game against St. Catherine’s University’s JV team. The game starts at 6:00 ET and will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 FM and at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Wardynski was named the Tournament Most Valuable Player.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos taken by Nate Belleville. Also listen to post-game comments from McGuire, Hardwick, and Coach Rob Robinson. Also listen to Brooke Dalgord’s player spotlight interview.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Gregory Named Bay College Women's Hoops Coach
Friday March 27, 2020
PLAYOFF UPSET: Norse Women Lose To Gogebic
Wednesday February 26, 2020
Norse Women Break Century Mark In Chicago Win
Saturday February 15, 2020
WIRE TO WIRE WIN: Bay Women Win In Chicago
Friday February 14, 2020
Norse Women Whip Samsons; Clinch Home Court
Wednesday February 12, 2020
Norse Women Overwhelmed By Bryant & Stratton
Saturday February 8, 2020
Bay Makes Women's Basketball Coaching Change
Thursday February 6, 2020
Big First Half Propels Bobcats Past Norse Women
Saturday February 1, 2020
COMING UP EMPTY: Norse Women Fall To Lions
Wednesday January 29, 2020
CANCER BEGONE: Norse, Lions Raise Awareness
Monday January 27, 2020
Finlandia Outlasts Bay College In Defensive Battle
Saturday January 25, 2020
Bay College Women Roll To Easy 106-12 Road Win
Sunday January 19, 2020
HOLDING SERVE: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic, 64-52
Wednesday January 15, 2020
Bay College Women Pull Out 57-51 Win In Alpena
Saturday January 11, 2020
DEFENSIVE STRUGGLE: Norse Women Fall 51-46
Tuesday January 7, 2020
Norse Women Roll Past Sault College To Start 2020
Friday January 3, 2020
ANOTHER CLOSE LOSS: Norse Women Fall, 65-60
Sunday December 22, 2019
Free Throws, Rebounding Cost Bay Women, 69-65
Saturday December 21, 2019
WEATHERING THE STORM: Norse Women Win
Sunday December 15, 2019
CRUISE CONTROL: Bay Women Top Harper, 56-5
Saturday December 14, 2019
Late Norse Rally Comes Up Short Vs No. 14 Lakers
Saturday December 7, 2019
Norse Women Can't Hold Leads; Fall In Port Huron
Friday December 6, 2019
Trudell Sinks Seven Triples As Bay Grinds Out Win
Monday November 25, 2019
Norse Women Pull Away From Stormers On Road
Friday November 22, 2019
STAYING HOME: Englund Signs To Play For Norse
Tuesday November 19, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Norse Shut Down UW-Marinette
Monday November 18, 2019
Bay College Basketball Announce Schedule Changes
Thursday November 7, 2019
NORCE FORCE: Bay Ladies Sweep Opening Games
Sunday November 3, 2019
EXHIBITION HOOPS: Northern Runs Past Norse
Sunday October 20, 2019