• U.P. 19u Baseball 8/8: Apple Valley, Minn., Raptors 8, Iron Mountain 3
  • U.P. 19u Baseball 8/8: Rockford, Ill., Prospects 6, Iron Mountain 5
  • U.P. 19u Baseball 8/9: Iron Mountain-Kingsford-Norway vs Team TBA
4215 articles
Thursday August 13, 2020
Bay College Women Pull Out 57-51 Win In Alpena

This story was written by Bay College SID Mike Pankow

ALPENA, MI –
The Bay College Norse Women's Basketball Team (12-6) pulled out a closely contested decision against the Alpena Community College Lumberjacks (2-9). 

The Norse wound up with a 57-51 win after trailing for most of the game.


Haley Trudell
 (SO, Rock, MI) got things going by hitting a three-point basket in the first possession for Bay, but Alpena responded. After the teams traded baskets on multiple possessions, the host team hit a three-point basket that gave them the lead with 6:08 remaining in the first quarter.  The Lumberjacks would not surrender that lead for the majority of the game.


Bay pulled to within two at the end of the first quarter, but a 6-2 Alpena lead gave the Lumberjacks their biggest lead of the game at 24-18.  Both teams suffered a two-and-a-half-minute scoring drought before the Norse were able to cut into that lead.  Alpena took a slim 32-29 lead into the locker room at halftime.


The Lumberjacks continued to fend off the Bay Norse, even though both teams struggled offensively in the third quarter.  Alpena was just three of 16 from the floor during that time period, which included just one three-point conversion on six attempts.  Bay was not able to take advantage of the situation, shooting just four of 15 from the field themselves, and found themselves down 40-39 as they went into the final quarter.
 

Bay continued to trail well into the fourth quarter.  Trish McGuire (FR, Gwinn, MI) hit a jumper with 5:45 remaining to pull within one.  After a defensive stop, a Kaitlyn Hardwick (SO, Gladstone, MI) hit a jump shot that gave Bay the lead with the game clock showing 4:47.  It was the first lead for the Norse since Alpena took the lead with 6:08 showing on the clock in the first quarter. 
 

That lead would not last long, as Alpena responded.  Trailing by two, JuliAnn Wickman (SO, Felch, MI) hit a big three that gave Bay a 49-48 lead with just over three minutes remaining.  The Lumberjacks split a pair of free throws, the two teams traded scoring possessions and it ended up being a tie game with 90 seconds left to play.  After an Alpena timeout, Wickman converted a jumper to give Bay the lead. 

The Norse forced a key turnover on the defensive end, allowing Madison Olsen (FR, St. Ignace, MI) to put the Norse up four with a jump shot.  It would force the issue as Alpena was forced to foul to stop the clock.  Although Bay only hit two of their four attempts in the waning minutes, they were able to force a turnover and a missed desperation three, giving them the six-point victory.
 

Olsen provided a big spark off the bench for the Norse, and ended as the teams leading scorer.  She ended her night with 13 points, seven rebounds, two steals, and a blocked shot.  Brooke Dalgord (SO, Garden, MI) scored 12 points and grabbed six rebounds.  Wickman added nine points and four rebounds.
 

Alpena's Dakota Prevo (SO, Alpena, MI)_wound up leading all scorers with 16 points while collecting 13 rebounds.  Mollie Girard (FR, Alpena, MI) added 12 points to the effort.
 

The Norse are at home on Wednesday night.  They will host U.P. and Region 13 rivals the Gogebic Community College Samsons in an important matchup that has postseason implications.  That game will tip at 6 pm.

Click the above headline to see video highlights. Also listen to post-game comments from Olsen and Coach Rob Robinson. Ans hear Kaitlyn Hardwick's player spotlight intervew.
 









Choose team:
No schedule entries



NOT DONE YET: Dalgord To Suit Up For Finlandia
Tuesday May 12, 2020
Gregory Named Bay College Women's Hoops Coach
Friday March 27, 2020
PLAYOFF UPSET: Norse Women Lose To Gogebic
Wednesday February 26, 2020
Norse Women Break Century Mark In Chicago Win
Saturday February 15, 2020
WIRE TO WIRE WIN: Bay Women Win In Chicago
Friday February 14, 2020
Norse Women Whip Samsons; Clinch Home Court
Wednesday February 12, 2020
Norse Women Overwhelmed By Bryant & Stratton
Saturday February 8, 2020
Bay Makes Women's Basketball Coaching Change
Thursday February 6, 2020
Big First Half Propels Bobcats Past Norse Women
Saturday February 1, 2020
COMING UP EMPTY: Norse Women Fall To Lions
Wednesday January 29, 2020
CANCER BEGONE: Norse, Lions Raise Awareness
Monday January 27, 2020
Finlandia Outlasts Bay College In Defensive Battle
Saturday January 25, 2020
Bay College Women Roll To Easy 106-12 Road Win
Sunday January 19, 2020
HOLDING SERVE: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic, 64-52
Wednesday January 15, 2020
DEFENSIVE STRUGGLE: Norse Women Fall 51-46
Tuesday January 7, 2020
THIRD TIME'S THE CHARM: Norse Stop Cavaliers
Saturday January 4, 2020
Norse Women Roll Past Sault College To Start 2020
Friday January 3, 2020
ANOTHER CLOSE LOSS: Norse Women Fall, 65-60
Sunday December 22, 2019
Free Throws, Rebounding Cost Bay Women, 69-65
Saturday December 21, 2019
WEATHERING THE STORM: Norse Women Win
Sunday December 15, 2019
CRUISE CONTROL: Bay Women Top Harper, 56-5
Saturday December 14, 2019
Late Norse Rally Comes Up Short Vs No. 14 Lakers
Saturday December 7, 2019
Norse Women Can't Hold Leads; Fall In Port Huron
Friday December 6, 2019
Trudell Sinks Seven Triples As Bay Grinds Out Win
Monday November 25, 2019
Norse Women Pull Away From Stormers On Road
Friday November 22, 2019
STAYING HOME: Englund Signs To Play For Norse
Tuesday November 19, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Norse Shut Down UW-Marinette
Monday November 18, 2019
Bay College Basketball Announce Schedule Changes
Thursday November 7, 2019
NORCE FORCE: Bay Ladies Sweep Opening Games
Sunday November 3, 2019
EXHIBITION HOOPS: Northern Runs Past Norse
Sunday October 20, 2019