• U.P. Baseball 6/19: Marquette at Gladstone
  • Menominee at Escanaba
  • Iron Mountain at Gladstone
  • Marquette vs Bark River
  • Bark River at Escanaba
4153 articles
Saturday June 6, 2020
Bay College Women Roll To Easy 106-12 Road Win

SAULT STE. MARIE---The  Bay College women’s basketball team jumped to a big lead early and cruised to a 106-12 win over the Lake Superior State University junior varsity team Sunday night in Sault Ste. Marie.

All nine Norse players who suited up scored, and six of them finished in double figures.
The Norse led, 28-2, after the first quarter, allowing just two free throws in the first eight minutes. Bay led, 55-4, at halftime, and continued to rotate players in and out of the lineup in the second half.

Bay was led by Gwinn High School graduate Trish McGuire. She had 22 points, 16 of which came in the second half.

Madison Olsen, playing less than an hour from her hometown of St. Ignace, added 17 points with a strong inside game. Bark River-Harris graduate Lauryn Bloniarz had a career-high 16 points.

Cierra Molina, playing a half hour from her hometown of Rudyard, also had a career high, with eleven points.

JuliAnn Wickman hit three triples and also scored eleven points, and Marissa Ackerman scored all ten of her points in the second half, knocking down a pair of triples.

Two other Norse players barely missed double figures, with Holly Wardynski scoring nine points and Haley Trudell hitting a pair of triples and adding eight points.

LSSU (0-6) was led by Kirby Harrison-Alcorn’s six points. The Norse allowed only three baskets and five free throws all night long.

Bay College improved to 14-6 on the season with their second large win over the Junior Lakers this season. The Norse host Finlandia University next Saturday at 1:00.

The game will be broadcast on Maverick 106.3 FM and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and hear post-game comments from Bloniarz and Coach Rob Robinson. Also listen to Molina’s player spotlight interview.










Choose team:
No schedule entries



NOT DONE YET: Dalgord To Suit Up For Finlandia
Tuesday May 12, 2020
Gregory Named Bay College Women's Hoops Coach
Friday March 27, 2020
PLAYOFF UPSET: Norse Women Lose To Gogebic
Wednesday February 26, 2020
Norse Women Break Century Mark In Chicago Win
Saturday February 15, 2020
WIRE TO WIRE WIN: Bay Women Win In Chicago
Friday February 14, 2020
Norse Women Whip Samsons; Clinch Home Court
Wednesday February 12, 2020
Norse Women Overwhelmed By Bryant & Stratton
Saturday February 8, 2020
Bay Makes Women's Basketball Coaching Change
Thursday February 6, 2020
Big First Half Propels Bobcats Past Norse Women
Saturday February 1, 2020
COMING UP EMPTY: Norse Women Fall To Lions
Wednesday January 29, 2020
CANCER BEGONE: Norse, Lions Raise Awareness
Monday January 27, 2020
Finlandia Outlasts Bay College In Defensive Battle
Saturday January 25, 2020
HOLDING SERVE: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic, 64-52
Wednesday January 15, 2020
Bay College Women Pull Out 57-51 Win In Alpena
Saturday January 11, 2020
DEFENSIVE STRUGGLE: Norse Women Fall 51-46
Tuesday January 7, 2020
THIRD TIME'S THE CHARM: Norse Stop Cavaliers
Saturday January 4, 2020
Norse Women Roll Past Sault College To Start 2020
Friday January 3, 2020
ANOTHER CLOSE LOSS: Norse Women Fall, 65-60
Sunday December 22, 2019
Free Throws, Rebounding Cost Bay Women, 69-65
Saturday December 21, 2019
WEATHERING THE STORM: Norse Women Win
Sunday December 15, 2019
CRUISE CONTROL: Bay Women Top Harper, 56-5
Saturday December 14, 2019
Late Norse Rally Comes Up Short Vs No. 14 Lakers
Saturday December 7, 2019
Norse Women Can't Hold Leads; Fall In Port Huron
Friday December 6, 2019
Trudell Sinks Seven Triples As Bay Grinds Out Win
Monday November 25, 2019
Norse Women Pull Away From Stormers On Road
Friday November 22, 2019
STAYING HOME: Englund Signs To Play For Norse
Tuesday November 19, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Norse Shut Down UW-Marinette
Monday November 18, 2019
Bay College Basketball Announce Schedule Changes
Thursday November 7, 2019
NORCE FORCE: Bay Ladies Sweep Opening Games
Sunday November 3, 2019
EXHIBITION HOOPS: Northern Runs Past Norse
Sunday October 20, 2019