• College Softball 3/13: Bay College 9, Chesapeake (Maryland) 1
  • College Baseball 3/13: Bay College 3, Northwestern Minnesota 0
4116 articles
Sunday April 5, 2020
COMING UP EMPTY: Norse Women Fall To Lions

HANCOCK---The Bay College women’s basketball team lost to Finlandia University for the second time in five days, falling to the Lions, 68-54, Wednesday night in Hancock.

The Norse scored 20 points and had a five-point lead in the in the final minute of the first quarter, and the game was tied at 31-31 at halftime. But the Finalndia defense was tough in the second half and the Norse had a hard time stopping the Lions offensive mix.

The Norse went to the free throw line 24 times in the first half, making 17 of the foul shots. But Bay did not get any free throw attempts in the entire second half, something that Coach Rob Robinson attributed to his team’s lake of aggressiveness in driving to the basket as the game went on.

Haley Trudell knocked down a pair of triples, and Kaitlyn Hardwick had a steal and a basket…and Hardwick converted a nice pass from JuliAnn Wickman for another layup. Marissa Ackerman made four free throws and Holly Wardynski scored in the line. That added up to a 20-15 lead.

But the Nose stalled out from there. Finlandia’s Taylor Pertile got hot in the second quarter, drilling three triples and scoring 12 of her team’s 14 points in that quarter.
With the game tied entering the third quarter, the Lions opened the third quarter by outscoring the Norse, 15-6, to take a 46-37 lead.

Carsyn Osterman had a big quarter, scoring eight points on a three-pointer, and “and one” basket, and a short jumper. Pertile added another three and a two-point bucket in that quarter, and the Lions led, 53-45 entering the fourth quarter.

But the Norse went most of the fourth quarter without scoring, and Bailey Froberg’s triple and driving lay-up put the game out of reach.

The Norse got a three and a lay-up from Madison Olsen late in the game, but could not close the gap as the Lions won their sixth straight game and improved to 11-11 on the season.

Osterman scored 21 points and Pertile added 19 for Finlandia. Froberg chipped in 12 points.

The Norse fell to 14-8 on the season. Bay did not have a player score in double figures, with Hardwick and Wardynski both scoring nine points to lead the way. McGuire, Ackerman, and Olsen had seven points apiece.

Bay College travels to suburban Milwaukee on Saturday to face the Bryant & Stratton Bobcats. Game time is 2:00 ET. It will be broadcast live on Maverick 106.3 FM and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS above to see photos and videos, and hear comments from Coach Rob Robinson. Also click to hear Trisha McGuire’s player spotlight interview.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Gregory Named Bay College Women's Hoops Coach
Friday March 27, 2020
PLAYOFF UPSET: Norse Women Lose To Gogebic
Wednesday February 26, 2020
Norse Women Break Century Mark In Chicago Win
Saturday February 15, 2020
WIRE TO WIRE WIN: Bay Women Win In Chicago
Friday February 14, 2020
Norse Women Whip Samsons; Clinch Home Court
Wednesday February 12, 2020
Norse Women Overwhelmed By Bryant & Stratton
Saturday February 8, 2020
Bay Makes Women's Basketball Coaching Change
Thursday February 6, 2020
Big First Half Propels Bobcats Past Norse Women
Saturday February 1, 2020
CANCER BEGONE: Norse, Lions Raise Awareness
Monday January 27, 2020
Finlandia Outlasts Bay College In Defensive Battle
Saturday January 25, 2020
Bay College Women Roll To Easy 106-12 Road Win
Sunday January 19, 2020
HOLDING SERVE: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic, 64-52
Wednesday January 15, 2020
Bay College Women Pull Out 57-51 Win In Alpena
Saturday January 11, 2020
DEFENSIVE STRUGGLE: Norse Women Fall 51-46
Tuesday January 7, 2020
THIRD TIME'S THE CHARM: Norse Stop Cavaliers
Saturday January 4, 2020
Norse Women Roll Past Sault College To Start 2020
Friday January 3, 2020
ANOTHER CLOSE LOSS: Norse Women Fall, 65-60
Sunday December 22, 2019
Free Throws, Rebounding Cost Bay Women, 69-65
Saturday December 21, 2019
WEATHERING THE STORM: Norse Women Win
Sunday December 15, 2019
CRUISE CONTROL: Bay Women Top Harper, 56-5
Saturday December 14, 2019
Late Norse Rally Comes Up Short Vs No. 14 Lakers
Saturday December 7, 2019
Norse Women Can't Hold Leads; Fall In Port Huron
Friday December 6, 2019
Trudell Sinks Seven Triples As Bay Grinds Out Win
Monday November 25, 2019
Norse Women Pull Away From Stormers On Road
Friday November 22, 2019
STAYING HOME: Englund Signs To Play For Norse
Tuesday November 19, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Norse Shut Down UW-Marinette
Monday November 18, 2019
Bay College Basketball Announce Schedule Changes
Thursday November 7, 2019
NORCE FORCE: Bay Ladies Sweep Opening Games
Sunday November 3, 2019
EXHIBITION HOOPS: Northern Runs Past Norse
Sunday October 20, 2019