• HS Hockey 2/21: Negaunee 5, Gaylord 2
  • College Hockey 2/21: Lake Superior State 6, Northern Michigan 1
  • HS Girls Basketball 2/21: Negaunee 53, Westwood 43
  • Kingsford 60, Iron Mountain 43
  • HS Boys Basketball 2/21: Menominee 84, Gladstone 76
  • Rapid River 76, Mid Peninsula 66
  • Bark River-Harris 53, Forest Park 46
  • North Central 75, Norway 66 (OT)
4062 articles
Sunday February 23, 2020
Eskymos Come Up Short In Showcase Opener, 4-3

CHELSEA, Mich.---The Escanaba High School hockey team had the lead in the second period on Thursday at the Michigan Public High School Hockey Showcase, but lost on a third period goal to the Davison Cardinals, 4-3, in downstate Chelsea.

Escanaba boarded a bus at the Wells Sports Complex at 5 a.m. on Thursday and made the seven-plus-hour-drive to the Arctic Coliseum in time for the 2 p.m. faceoff.

And Ethan Silverstone got the Eskymos going with a first period goal. Nick Kolich and Karson Krutina scored in the second period to put Escanaba in front, but the Cardinals tied it late in the period and had the only goal of the third period.

The Eskymos put on pressure with the goaltender pulled in the final minute of the game, but could not get the equalizer.

Davison improved to 12-5-0 on the season. Escanaba fell to 8-10-0.

Also at the Showcase on Thusrday, the U.P.'s other team in this statewide event, the Marquette Redmen, scored four goals in the second period and three more in the third period to beat the Lake Orion Dragons, 7-1.

The Eskymos have an early start on Friday: a 9:30 a.m.game against Wyandotte.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see videos of two Eskymo goals, courtesy of Missy Reinhart.






Choose team:
No schedule entries



Emotional Eskymos Skate Past Jeffers 7-2 In Finale
Saturday February 22, 2020
HANGING ON: Eskymos Slip Past Blue Devils, 3-2
Friday February 7, 2020
Krutina Brothers, Silverstone Lead Eskymos To Win
Tuesday February 4, 2020
BACK TO .500: Eskymos Top Jenison At Showcase
Saturday February 1, 2020
SHOOTOUT WINNER: Eskymos Win At Showcase
Friday January 31, 2020
Eskymos Come Up Short In Copper Country, 4-1
Friday January 24, 2020
STRONG EFFORT: Eskymos Battle #1 Copper Kings
Tuesday January 21, 2020
DOMINATING VICTORY: Redmen Blitz Eskymos
Thursday January 16, 2020
'POWERFUL' PERFORMANCE: Eskymos Win, 7-0
Friday January 10, 2020
LaMarch Hat Trick Leads Eskymos To Win At MTU
Friday January 3, 2020
SPECIAL TEAMS RULE: Eskymos Slip Past Alpena
Saturday December 28, 2019
Eskymos Come Up Short Against No. 4 Eaglets, 4-1
Friday December 27, 2019
FOUR IN A ROW: Silverstone Hat Trick Leads Esky
Friday December 20, 2019
Marquette Fires 47 Shots; Skate Past Eskymos, 6-1
Tuesday December 3, 2019
Eskymos Open Hockey Season With 4-1 Road Win
Friday November 22, 2019