• HS Hockey 2/22: Escanaba 7, Painesdale-Jeffers 2
  • Negaunee 6, Cheboygan 3
  • HS Girls Basketball 2/22: Carney-Nadeau 54, North Central 38
  • Men's College Basketball 2/22: Dakota County Tech 111, Gogebic Community College 66
  • College Hockey 2/22: Northern Michigan 5, Lake Supeiror State 1
4063 articles
Sunday February 23, 2020
WIRE TO WIRE WIN: Bay Women Win In Chicago

CHICAGO---The Bay College Norse women's basketball team had the lead from start to finish Friday and posted a 68-36 win over the Malcolm X Hawks in downtown Chicago.

The Norse caused 37 turnovers, 24 of them in the first half, in building a 37-13 halftime lead that was never cut below double digits.

Points were hard to come by in the first quarter after the Norse scored the first three baskets in the first couple of minutes.

The score was 6-1 for the Norse for the longest time before Kaitlyn Hardwick scored twice and Brooke Mannor scored once, giving Bay a 15-3 lead after the first quarter. The Hawks had trouble getting the ball across half court, and when they did, they either rushed shots or threw passes that were way too high.

In the second quarter, Haley Trudell scored six points in five seconds as she drained a triple, stole the inbounds pass, scored under the basket, and was fouled. She made the free throw, and the Norse grabbed a 26-8 lead. Trudell hit another triple moments later.

Cierra Molina also knocked down a triple in that 22-point quarter for Bay.

The third quarter saw the Hawks cut the 24 point deficit to 15, as Jessica Congress scored nine points and Jada McCrury scored six, closing the Bay lead to 43-28.

But the Norse scored the final two baskets of the quarter and reclaimed command on the defensive end in the fourth quarter, allowing only eight points, causing four turnovers, and scoring on three lay-ups. They outscored Malcolm X, 21-8, in the fourth quarter, with six different players scoring during those eight minutes.

Bay won the game despite getting to the downtown Chicago gym only 26 minutes before tip-off after the team got caught in massive traffic jams caused by an increased number of visitors to the area, led by the NBA All-Star game. It took 1 hour, 15 minutes, to make the 15-mile drive from the team's hotel to the college campus.

Hardwick led the Norse with 11 points and eight rebounds, and Trudell had 12 points and four steals on defense. Wickman scored nine points and Madison Olsen added eight points. Dalgord led the team with nine rebounds to go along with four points.

Malcolm X (14-9 overall) got a game-high 20 points from Congress.

Bay College improved to 16-10 on the season and will play its final regular season game on Saturday against Truman College. Game time is 2:00 ET and it will be broadcast live on Maverick 106.3 FM and on-line at www.radioresultsnetwork.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and hear post-game comments from Mannor and Coach Matt Gregory. Also click to hear Haley Trudell's player spotlight interview.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



Norse Women Break Century Mark In Chicago Win
Saturday February 15, 2020
Norse Women Whip Samsons; Clinch Home Court
Wednesday February 12, 2020
Norse Women Overwhelmed By Bryant & Stratton
Saturday February 8, 2020
Bay Makes Women's Basketball Coaching Change
Thursday February 6, 2020
Big First Half Propels Bobcats Past Norse Women
Saturday February 1, 2020
COMING UP EMPTY: Norse Women Fall To Lions
Wednesday January 29, 2020
CANCER BEGONE: Norse, Lions Raise Awareness
Monday January 27, 2020
Finlandia Outlasts Bay College In Defensive Battle
Saturday January 25, 2020
Bay College Women Roll To Easy 106-12 Road Win
Sunday January 19, 2020
HOLDING SERVE: Bay Ladies Top Gogebic, 64-52
Wednesday January 15, 2020
Bay College Women Pull Out 57-51 Win In Alpena
Saturday January 11, 2020
DEFENSIVE STRUGGLE: Norse Women Fall 51-46
Tuesday January 7, 2020
THIRD TIME'S THE CHARM: Norse Stop Cavaliers
Saturday January 4, 2020
Norse Women Roll Past Sault College To Start 2020
Friday January 3, 2020
ANOTHER CLOSE LOSS: Norse Women Fall, 65-60
Sunday December 22, 2019
Free Throws, Rebounding Cost Bay Women, 69-65
Saturday December 21, 2019
WEATHERING THE STORM: Norse Women Win
Sunday December 15, 2019
CRUISE CONTROL: Bay Women Top Harper, 56-5
Saturday December 14, 2019
Late Norse Rally Comes Up Short Vs No. 14 Lakers
Saturday December 7, 2019
Norse Women Can't Hold Leads; Fall In Port Huron
Friday December 6, 2019
Trudell Sinks Seven Triples As Bay Grinds Out Win
Monday November 25, 2019
Norse Women Pull Away From Stormers On Road
Friday November 22, 2019
STAYING HOME: Englund Signs To Play For Norse
Tuesday November 19, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Norse Shut Down UW-Marinette
Monday November 18, 2019
Bay College Basketball Announce Schedule Changes
Thursday November 7, 2019
NORCE FORCE: Bay Ladies Sweep Opening Games
Sunday November 3, 2019
EXHIBITION HOOPS: Northern Runs Past Norse
Sunday October 20, 2019