• College Softball 3/13: Bay College 9, Chesapeake (Maryland) 1
  • College Baseball 3/13: Bay College 3, Northwestern Minnesota 0
4116 articles
Sunday April 5, 2020
All MHSAA Tourrnaments Indefinitely Postponed

EAST LANSING, Mich. ---Postseason events sponsored by the Michigan High School Athletic Association have been suspended immediately and indefinitely due to concerns related to COVID-19.
 

The Ice Hockey, Girls Gymnastics and Lower Peninsula Boys Swimming & Diving Finals had been scheduled for this weekend, while the Girls & Boys Basketball Tournaments are midway through earlier rounds of their playoff progressions.
 

On Wednesday, Gov. Gretchen Whitmer recommended a stoppage of large gatherings in order to assist in preventing the spread of COVID-19.
 

“Based on the events of the last 48 hours and with things changing by the minute, we believe we have no choice but to suspend our winter tournaments immediately,” MHSAA Executive Director Mark Uyl said. “This is a suspension until we have a better handle on the situation. The health and welfare of everyone involved is our number one priority.”
 

Uyl added that more information and updates will be forthcoming over the next few days. No timetable has been determined for possible rescheduling for tournaments.
 

Click for a video statement from Mark Uyl.

 


All-UP High School Boys Basketball Teams Named
Friday April 3, 2020
UP HS BOYS BASKETBALL SCORES/SCHEDULES
Thursday March 12, 2020
RIVALRY UPSET! Gladstone Rallies Past Escanaba
Friday February 28, 2020
WIRE TO WIRE WIN: Braves Roll Past Westwood
Monday February 24, 2020
1,000 POINT CLUB: Sundling Scores 28 In Victory
Friday February 21, 2020
1,000 POINT CLUB: LaFord Leads Wolves To Win
Tuesday February 18, 2020
Marquette Schools To 'Retire' Native American Logo
Monday February 17, 2020
STRONG FINISH: Karp, Redmen Hold Off Braves
Tuesday February 11, 2020
BIG COMEBACK: Hematites Rally To Beat Broncos
Monday February 10, 2020
Eskymos Fight Off Second Half Emerald Challenge
Tuesday January 28, 2020
GRINDING IT OUT: Northern Rallies Past Panthers
Thursday January 23, 2020
Gorzinski Leads NCA Jets Past Rapid River, 66-54
Monday January 20, 2020
CRUISE CONTROL: Rockets Overwhelm Cougars
Friday January 17, 2020
Braves Pull Away In Fourth To Stop Model Towners
Friday January 10, 2020
STILL ON TOP: Mountaineers Outlast Braves 79-64
Monday January 6, 2020
Norse Roll Past Cavaliers To Win Tournament Title
Saturday January 4, 2020
DOUBLE DIP: Escanaba Gets Two Basketball Wins
Saturday December 28, 2019
NCA Retires Jason Whitens, Dawson Bilski Jerseys
Monday December 23, 2019
FURIOUS RALLY: Jets Top Broncos In Second Half
Monday December 23, 2019
DEFENSIVE BATTLE: Jets Outslug Wolves, 46-41
Thursday December 19, 2019
Eskymos Overcome Simonsen, Gremlins In Opener
Tuesday December 17, 2019
Gladstone Slips By Hot-Shooting Manistique 65-60
Friday December 13, 2019
MHSAA Ready For 'Battle Of The Fans IX' Contest
Thursday December 12, 2019
HOLIDAY HOOPS: NCA To Honor Whitens, Bilski
Wednesday December 11, 2019