• HS Tennis 9/18: Escanaba 7, Gladstone 1
  • HS Football 9/18: North Central 84, Ontonagon 6
  • HS Football 9/18: Stephenson 60, North Dickinson 6
  • HS Football 9/18: Munising 30, Rudyard 26
  • HS Football 9/18: Marquette 41, Menominee 18
  • HS Football 9/18: Kingsford 17, Calumet 16
  • HS Football 9/18: Negaunee 39, Manistique 8
  • HS Football 9/18: West Iron County 28, Norway 6
4246 articles
Saturday September 19, 2020
Alexander, Hardwick Named To All-Regional Team

This story was written by Bay College SID Mike Pankow.
Photos, video highlights by RRN Sports.com

ESCANABA---
NJCAA Region 13 announced the All-Region Basketball Teams.  Bay College had representatives from the Men's and Women's team, with Christian Alexander (SO, Dorset, UK) and Kaitlyn Hardwick (SO, Gladstone, MI) being recognized among the best players in the region.
 
Alexander helped lead the Norse to a 19-10 record this past season.  He finished the season second on the team in scoring, averaging 13.6 points per game.  Christian led the team in three statistical categories; shooting 61.7% from the field, grabbing 279 rebounds, and blocking 26 shots.
 
"I am very happy for Christian," said Head Men's Basketball Coach Matt Johnson.  "There is no one more deserving.  All of his hard work, dedication, and determination has paid off.  In all my years of coaching I have not had anybody that was more dedicated to improving their craft."

"It is great to see him receiving these accolades.  I am excited for Christian to receive this honor and equally as excited to see what the future holds for him.  No matter what he decides to do, his hard work and determination will lead to him doing great things."
 
Christian was joined on the All-Region team by six other players.  Dakota County Technical College's Lorenzo Smith was named All-Region MVP and was joined on the All-Region Team by Harlyn Owens.  United Tribes Technical College also had two representatives on the list as Nick Jiles and Cecilio Montgomery were honored.  The All-Region Team was rounded out by Dakota College–Bottineau's Kobe Clancy.
 
Peter Olafeso from Dakota County Technical College was named the Division 2, Region 13 Coach of the Year.
 
Hardwick was instrumental in helping the Norse obtain a 17-11 record this season.  She led the team in shooting, hitting 46.7% of her shots from the field.  She also collected 142 rebounds and dealt out 48 assists this past season, leading the team in both categories.
 
"I am very proud of Kaitlyn," said Head Women's Basketball Coach Matt Gregory.  "She definitely deserves it.  Her drive and determination in every game and practice and game really showed the type of person she is in everything she does.  I was very lucky to have the chance to work with her this season and I am excited to see what great things she will accomplish in the future."
 
Five other women were named to the All-Region Team.  Gogebic Community College's Samaiya Buchanan and Haley Grover, United Tribes Technical College's Karissa DuShane and Hannah Golus, and Dakota College's Sydnie Nelson were all honored for their play this past season.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



COACH 'YO: Bay College Grad To Join NMU Staff
Saturday May 9, 2020
BIG BRIT MAKES BIG MOVE: Alexander Goes D-1
Friday May 1, 2020
END OF THE LINE: Bay Men Eliminated By DCTC
Wednesday February 26, 2020
Bay College Men Hold Off Truman College, 71-64
Saturday February 15, 2020
WINDY CITY WIN: Norse Grind Past Daley College
Friday February 14, 2020
Bay Men Overwhelm Gogebic; Sweep Season Series
Wednesday February 12, 2020
OUTGUNNED: Second Half Drought Dooms Norse
Saturday February 8, 2020
Comeback Falls Short For Norse Men's Basketball
Saturday February 1, 2020
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Men Dominate Finlandia
Wednesday January 29, 2020
Fast Start Helps Norse Overwhelm Finlandia, 97-78
Saturday January 25, 2020
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Top Junior Lakers, 98-75
Sunday January 19, 2020
HEARTBREAKING LOSS: Norse Fall By One Point
Saturday January 18, 2020
Wagner, Norse Beat Gogebic With Big Second Half
Wednesday January 15, 2020
BAY'S BIG BRIT: Alexander Has Eye On Next Level
Monday January 13, 2020
Bay College Mens Basketball Strolls Past Alpena CC
Saturday January 11, 2020
Norse Rally For Big Road Win In Minnesota, 80-76
Wednesday January 8, 2020
Wagner Clutch As Bay Men Beat Sault College 81-77
Friday January 3, 2020
Robinette, Norse Bounce Back To Win In Minnesota
Sunday December 22, 2019
DEFENSIVE WOES: Norse Fall To Rochester Tech
Saturday December 21, 2019
No. 8 Milwaukee Tech Men Roll Past Norse, 98-82
Sunday December 15, 2019
TUNE-UP VICTORY: Bay Tops Hawks; MATC Next
Saturday December 14, 2019
DOUBLE OT THRILLER: Norse Top Lakers, 95-90
Sunday December 8, 2019
Norse Men's Basketball Dominated Downstate
Friday December 6, 2019
Gogebic Lindquist Tournament Games Cancelled
Friday November 29, 2019
ROLLIN' RYAN: Robinette Threes Lead Bay, 90-67
Thursday November 28, 2019
STORM WARNING: Milwaukee Tech Beats Norse
Friday November 22, 2019
Norse Open Home Season With Win Over JV Lakers
Sunday November 17, 2019
BOUNCING BACK: Guards Lead Norse To Victory
Sunday November 3, 2019
Norse Men Set To Open 2019-'20 Season Downstate
Thursday October 31, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Northern Pulls Away From Bay
Friday October 25, 2019