• U.P. 19u Baseball 8/8: Apple Valley, Minn., Raptors 8, Iron Mountain 3
  • U.P. 19u Baseball 8/8: Rockford, Ill., Prospects 6, Iron Mountain 5
  • U.P. 19u Baseball 8/9: Iron Mountain-Kingsford-Norway vs Team TBA
4215 articles
Thursday August 13, 2020
COACH 'YO: Bay College Grad To Join NMU Staff

MARQUETTE---Ishpeming High School graduate Dondre Yohe, who played the past two seasons for the Bay College Norse, will be wearing Green and Gold next winter. Or more like a suit and tie. Yohe, who just finished his coursework at Bay, will join the Northern Michigan University men's basketball program as a student assistant coach.

Yohe says he had some interest from a couple of NCAA-III schools to continue his playing career, but decided to step into coaching as he works on his degree in phyiscal education at Northern Michigan University, just a few minutes from his doorstep in Ishpeming.

"When the season ended, I started thinking about what I wanted to do with my life," Yohe said. "I love being at home. I love the Upper Peninsula, and Marquette, especially. So, I thought I might as well try out this coaching gig."

"I've been a summer workout coordinator for Westwood High School this past season and I helped them out whenever I could, so I thought about taking the jump to the next level."

Yohe says he first met NMU Head Coach Matt Majkrzak when Majkrzak was coaching at Bryant & Stratton College in suburban Milwaukee.

Yohe played for Bay College against Majkrzak's Bobcats, and Majkrzak was recruiting Yohe's younger brother, Darius.

Darius Yohe ultimately went to Warren Woods University in Missouri, where he was one of his division's top shot blockers. The Owls, incidentally, are coached by former NMU assistant Charles Belt, and Terry Nash, who's position Dondre Yohe will now hold.

"When the time came for a phone interview, he (Majkrzak) said, 'we'd love to have you come on board'," said Yohe, who's cousin, Megan, is an athletic trainer at NMU.

On the court for Bay, Yohe was not a flashy player, and he didn't score in bunches.

But he did a lot of the dirty work on the defensive side of the ball, knocked down jumpers when teammates were covered, and created looks for others with his passing.

So, what kind of jobs will Yohe have with the Wildcats next season?

"I don't have the specific details of it so far," Yohe said. "I do know that he's going to try to delegate responsibilities more this year. So, I might be up in the rafters filming practice, I might be helping out with drills, helping with the scout team. He said it's really what you make of it."

Yohe's time at Bay College officially came to an end on Saturday, as the college would have held its graduation ceremonies.

That didn't happen because of the coronavirus, although President Laura Coleman says they will have a ceremony on Aug. 8.

"I'm beyond fortunate to have had the orpportunity to play at Bay College," Yohe said. "It was one of the greatest experiences I've had in my life. It really made me grow and mature as a man. I still have a really, really, really long way to go when it comes to that, but I'm really glad I was able to participate in the Bay College basketball program."

And now, it's on to the next chapter. Coach.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to listen to our full interview with Yohe, and to see photos and videos.













Choose team:
No schedule entries



BIG BRIT MAKES BIG MOVE: Alexander Goes D-1
Friday May 1, 2020
NMU Announces 2019-'20 Wildcat Award Winners
Monday April 27, 2020
Alexander, Hardwick Named To All-Regional Team
Friday April 17, 2020
RAINING TRIPLES: Michigan Tech Rolls Past 'Cats
Thursday February 27, 2020
END OF THE LINE: Bay Men Eliminated By DCTC
Wednesday February 26, 2020
DOUBLE OT THRILLER: Grand Valley Tops 'Cats
Thursday February 20, 2020
Bay College Men Hold Off Truman College, 71-64
Saturday February 15, 2020
NMU Wildcat Basketball Teams Lose At Ferris State
Saturday February 15, 2020
WINDY CITY WIN: Norse Grind Past Daley College
Friday February 14, 2020
Lake Superior State Sweeps NMU Basketball Teams
Thursday February 13, 2020
Bay Men Overwhelm Gogebic; Sweep Season Series
Wednesday February 12, 2020
OUTGUNNED: Second Half Drought Dooms Norse
Saturday February 8, 2020
Howard, Fruin Lead Northern Past Parkside, 55-43
Thursday February 6, 2020
Comeback Falls Short For Norse Men's Basketball
Saturday February 1, 2020
ROLLING ALONG: Norse Men Dominate Finlandia
Wednesday January 29, 2020
Fast Start Helps Norse Overwhelm Finlandia, 97-78
Saturday January 25, 2020
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Top Junior Lakers, 98-75
Sunday January 19, 2020
HEARTBREAKING LOSS: Norse Fall By One Point
Saturday January 18, 2020
Wagner, Norse Beat Gogebic With Big Second Half
Wednesday January 15, 2020
BAY'S BIG BRIT: Alexander Has Eye On Next Level
Monday January 13, 2020
Bay College Mens Basketball Strolls Past Alpena CC
Saturday January 11, 2020
Hot-Shooting 'Cats Beat Purdue-Northwest, 81-67
Thursday January 9, 2020
Norse Rally For Big Road Win In Minnesota, 80-76
Wednesday January 8, 2020
Wagner Clutch As Bay Men Beat Sault College 81-77
Friday January 3, 2020
BOMBS AWAY: 'Cats Nail 14 Triples; Beat Ashland
Thursday January 2, 2020
Robinette, Norse Bounce Back To Win In Minnesota
Sunday December 22, 2019
HOME SETBACK: Wildcats Fall To Ripon College
Saturday December 21, 2019
DEFENSIVE WOES: Norse Fall To Rochester Tech
Saturday December 21, 2019
NMU Offense Struggles In 70-52 Loss To Hillsdale
Thursday December 19, 2019
No. 8 Milwaukee Tech Men Roll Past Norse, 98-82
Sunday December 15, 2019
Matelski Buzzer-Beater Lifts 'Cats Past Tech, 64-61
Sunday December 15, 2019
TUNE-UP VICTORY: Bay Tops Hawks; MATC Next
Saturday December 14, 2019
DOUBLE OT THRILLER: Norse Top Lakers, 95-90
Sunday December 8, 2019
Saginaw Valley Pulls Out Hoop Win Over Northern
Saturday December 7, 2019
Norse Men's Basketball Dominated Downstate
Friday December 6, 2019
NMU Men's Basketball Drops GLIAC Opener, 53-50
Thursday December 5, 2019
NMU Second Half Rally Comes Up Short In Alaska
Monday December 2, 2019
Gogebic Lindquist Tournament Games Cancelled
Friday November 29, 2019
ROLLIN' RYAN: Robinette Threes Lead Bay, 90-67
Thursday November 28, 2019
STORM WARNING: Milwaukee Tech Beats Norse
Friday November 22, 2019
Norse Open Home Season With Win Over JV Lakers
Sunday November 17, 2019
BOUNCING BACK: Wildcats Top SW Minnesota St.
Saturday November 16, 2019
NMU Basketball Teams Have Rough Day In Illinois
Sunday November 10, 2019
BOUNCING BACK: Guards Lead Norse To Victory
Sunday November 3, 2019
Norse Men Set To Open 2019-'20 Season Downstate
Thursday October 31, 2019
DEFENSE RULES: Northern Pulls Away From Bay
Friday October 25, 2019