• U.P. 19u Baseball 8/8: Apple Valley, Minn., Raptors 8, Iron Mountain 3
  • U.P. 19u Baseball 8/8: Rockford, Ill., Prospects 6, Iron Mountain 5
  • U.P. 19u Baseball 8/9: Iron Mountain-Kingsford-Norway vs Team TBA
4212 articles
Tuesday August 11, 2020
BEAT THE HEAT: Johnson, Iron Mountain Win 8-3

BARK RIVER---Caleb Johnson pitched eight innings of two-hit relief in 90-degree heat on Wednesday as the Iron Mountain-Kingsford-Norway U19 Baseball team topped the Bark River Bucs, 8-3, in a nine-inning game.

"I'm wet right now, I'm super-sweaty," Johnson said after the game. "My curveball was working really well today. I struck out most kids with the curveball. My gas wasn't quite there today, but it was all right. I wasn't expecting to pitch today, so I didn't warm up, and didn't really strecth that well."

"I thought Blakewas going to pitch at least half the game and Nolan Amundson would come in to relief, but he (Coach Paul Julian) came out to the mound and said 'Caleb Johnson, come here, shut 'em out."

And, that he did.

IMKN took a 2-0 lead in the top of the first inning on a two-run single by Johnson with two out, giving Blake Julian a cushion to work with on the mound. Julian struggled in the first inning, walking two batters, hitting another, and there were two defensive errors behind him.

Bark River scored two runs without a base hit in that inning, but Iron Mountain got the runs back the next inning against Bucs starter Zach Englund.

Josh Weber and Nolan Amundson led off with singles, then with two out, Gannon Bray singled home two runs to make it a 4-2 game.

Julian hit the first two batters he faced in the bottom of the second inning, and that ended his day on the mound, bringing Johnson in to pitch.

Johnson gave up a base hit to Aidan Johnson to load the bases, then walked Antonio Mercier to force home the Bucs' third run.

But Caleb Johnson got Nick Javurek to take a called third strike to keep it a 4-3 game.

In the third inning, he walked Johnnie Robinette, but quickly picked him off of first base.

Then Wyatt Riley was safe on an error, and from there, Johnson retired the next eight men he faced. He struck out the side in the fifth inning.

Meanwhile, Englund settled down for the Bucs on the mound, allowing only an unearned run in the third inning that gave IMKN a 5-3 lead. Englund left the mound after four innings.

IMKN added another unearned run in the sixth inning, then put the game away in the eighth on a two-run single by Josh Weber, another two out hit by the Dickinson County boys.

Iron Mountain had eight hits, and three of them were timely, driving in two runs apiece, by Caleb Johnson, Bray, and Weber,

Bark River was handcuffed to just one base hit until Javurek got one in the ninth inning.

"He just kept us off-balance," Bucs Coach Matt Richer said. "Like I told the guys right before I came over here, we've had six (total) hits in the last three games. It's hard to win when you can only get six hits. In the last four games, we've been in the games against these real good teams like Menominee, Gladstone, and these guys, and we always seem to have that one inning where we have one or two errors, and it's always cost us."

"It's all mental, I think, and we've got to break that, because other than that, we've been playing some really good baseball lately."

Riley threw the final five innings for the Bucs, allowing three runs on three hits and four walks.

Johnson, meanwhile, was stellar. The University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh recruit allowed two hits and four walks in eight innings, striking out eleven batters.

Iron Mountain improved to 8-6 on the season while Bark River fell to 4-11.

IMKN hosts Gladstone Thursday night while Bark River is off until next Tuesday when the Bucs host Escanaba. That game will be broadcast on NewsTalk 600 and www.rrnsports.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and hear post-game comments from Caleb Johnson and Bucs Coach Matt Richer.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



ANOTHER TIGHT ONE: IMKN Boys Fall In Qtrs.
Sunday August 9, 2020
IMKN U-19 Baseball Drops Two In Wisconsin Dells
Saturday August 8, 2020
Gladstone Indians Celebrate Successful '20 Season
Wednesday August 5, 2020
Escanaba 12-Under Bears Finish Second In Tourney
Saturday August 1, 2020
Escanaba 12-Under Bears Win Final Home Games
Thursday July 30, 2020
WILD FINISH: Menominee Caps Season With Title
Saturday July 25, 2020
Indians Advance To Semifinals; Escanaba Bows Out
Friday July 24, 2020
Escanaba Cubs Outlast Copper Country Flames, 7-5
Thursday July 23, 2020
SURVIVAL MODE: Indians Sneak Past Iron Mt. 2-1
Thursday July 23, 2020
RUNNING THE TABLE; Junior Cubs Win UP Title
Saturday July 18, 2020
Petoskey Royals AA Cruise Past Escanaba Cubs, 6-2
Friday July 17, 2020
SPLIT DECISION: Bucs, Red Wave Both Take One
Thursday July 16, 2020
Marquette Blues Hold Off Gladstone Indians, 6-4
Wednesday July 15, 2020
Gladstone Sweeps Sault To Complete 3-1 Weekend
Sunday July 12, 2020
LOSING STREAK OVER: Cubs Earn Walk-Off Win
Saturday July 11, 2020
Mistake-Prone Cubs Fall To Sheboygan In Opener
Friday July 10, 2020
Iron Mountain Strikes Early To Turn Back Indians
Thursday July 9, 2020
Marquette Sweeps Doubleheader From Esky Cubs
Wednesday July 8, 2020
HANGING ON: Gladstone Survives Escanaba Rally
Tuesday July 7, 2020
Iron Mountain Cruises Past Escanaba In U-19 Play
Monday July 6, 2020
RIVALRY BATTLE: Indians Cruise Past Escanaba
Thursday July 2, 2020
DOMINATING PITCHING: Henriksen Leads Blues
Thursday July 2, 2020
HOLY COW! Esky Cubs Surprise Menominee, 8-2
Wednesday July 1, 2020
Marquette Stops Menominee; Cubs, Indians Rally
Monday June 29, 2020
SUNDAY BALL: Iron Mountain, Menominee Win
Sunday June 28, 2020
DOUBLE DIP: Cubs, Junior Cubs Win Tight Games
Friday June 26, 2020
Gladstone Tops Marquette To Earn First Win, 6-5
Thursday June 25, 2020
Bark River Bucs Drop Doubleheader In Marquette
Wednesday June 24, 2020
RIDE THE WAVE: Menominee Rolls Past Gladstone
Sunday June 21, 2020
Cubs Beat Negaunee; Lose Heartbreaker To Flames
Sunday June 21, 2020
Rain Washes Out Saturday’s Local Baseball Contests
Saturday June 20, 2020
HANGING ON: Cubs Hold Off Bucs In Opener, 9-7
Friday June 19, 2020
Marquette Blues Rally Past Gladstone Indians, 7-6
Friday June 19, 2020
Bucs Cruise To Sweep In Delta County First Games
Wednesday June 17, 2020
Marquette Blues Open Season With Win In Hancock
Tuesday June 16, 2020
Menominee Pitchers Shut Down Copper Country
Saturday June 13, 2020
BASEBALL IS BACK: U.P. League Plays First Game
Wednesday June 10, 2020
U.P. Baseball League Plans To Open Season June 19
Tuesday May 26, 2020
2020 American Legion Baseball Program Cancelled
Monday April 13, 2020