• Men's College Basketball 1/26: Michigan Tech 61, Northern Michigan 52
  • Women's College Basketball 1/26: Michigan Tech 55, Northern Michigan 46
4372 articles
Thursday January 28, 2021
U.P. High School Football Programs Get Donations

The U.P. Football All-Star Game continued its giving ways by announcing that sixteen U.P. high school football teams will receive donations from the game this year.  The following twelve football programs will each receive one thousand dollars, which can be used for anything that benefits the football program: Calumet, Cedarville, Forest Park, Gladstone, Hancock, Iron Mountain, Ishpeming, Kingsford, Marquette, Munising, North Central and Pickford.
 
“When this game was started, it was always a goal that we would eventually be able to donate directly to all of the high school football programs throughout the U.P.  Next year, we will finally achieve that goal, and that is due to the tremendous support that the U.P. communities have given this event over the years.”, said organizer Todd Goldbeck.
 
The schools are picked at random each year.  Once a school has been selected, that school will be removed from the lottery until all other schools have been chosen once.  Every U.P. football program will get an equal donation from the all-star game, in the amount of one thousand dollars.  Once all schools have received the donation, the process will start over again.
 
“The lottery is a fun way to select the schools”, said Goldbeck.  “Every program is eligible, and it does not matter how successful the team is; everyone has a chance and gets a turn.  It is very important that all U.P. programs are supported, so that each school can maintain a competitive team.  That is what the U.P. Football All-Star Game is all about.  Because All-Star Week could not take place this year, we were able to donate to many more schools.  I hope that the donations will help their football programs in a positive way for what is sure to be a difficult upcoming year.”
 
“This game would not be possible without the schools providing a positive environment for all of these student-athletes to succeed.  Giving back to their football programs will help each school continue their individual football tradition”, states Goldbeck.
 
The football team of each school may choose to use the money in any number of ways. Equipment, weight room and uniforms are just a few places that the school may decide will be the most effective use of the funds.
 
In addition to the twelve schools selected, the Black and Red All-Star head coaches received half of the footballs that were to be used during the week leading up to the game.  There are 24 new footballs each year, so both All-Star head coaches (Andy Crouch-Lake Linden-Hubbell and Iffer Marshall-St. Ignace) were given 12 brand new footballs.
 
Also, all of the practice jerseys are donated to U.P. football programs. There was a full set of royal blue jerseys that went to Superior Central High School, and the purple jerseys were given to L’Anse High School. The practice jerseys have the school name printed on them and are their school colors, so they can be used by the schools right away, without any further additions to the jerseys.
 
Other donations included a monetary donation to the U.P. Sports Hall of Fame to sponsor an annual scholarship for one of the All-Star players and Bay Cliff Health Camp, which are two organizations that operate on contributions from the community.
 
“When the game is over, I always want to be in a position to say, ‘The All-Star Game did very well again this year. That means we gave back to many different groups/schools and the players had fun throughout the week, while also reinforcing some important life lessons they can take with them moving forward in their lives.’  This year did not allow the players to have the same life-changing experiences as past groups, but they have been receiving their own life lessons that will no doubt shape the way they go into the world.  Despite all the setbacks, the U.P. Football All-Star Game was able to give some much-needed donations again this year.”
 
Next year’s game is set for Saturday, June 26, 2021.

Wilson Hired New Eskymo Varsity Football Coach
Monday January 18, 2021
ROLLIN' RAAB: Transfer Helps Jets Win State Title
Saturday January 16, 2021
U.P. HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL SCORES/SCHEDULES
Sunday January 10, 2021
WORTH THE WAIT: Jets Headed To State Finals
Saturday January 9, 2021
END OF THE LINE: Iron Mtn. Loses Heartbreaker
Saturday January 9, 2021
Escanaba Eskymos Football Coach Howes Resigning
Wednesday December 23, 2020
HS Football, Volleyball To Resume; Others Waiting
Friday December 18, 2020
Sportswriters Release 2020 All-U.P. Football Teams
Thursday December 17, 2020
MHSAA Council Takes No Action; Rally Set Friday
Wednesday December 9, 2020
CRUSHED: Jets Football Team Reacts To Shutdown
Monday December 7, 2020
MHSAA 'Disappointed' With Shutdown Extension
Monday December 7, 2020
MHSAA Releases Plan For Playoffs; Winter Sports
Wednesday November 18, 2020
Escanaba's Maki To Play Football At Michigan Tech
Wednesday November 18, 2020
MHSAA Halts Tournaments Following State Order
Sunday November 15, 2020
ON TO THE FINAL FOUR: Jets Roll Over Trojans
Friday November 13, 2020
STATEMENT MADE: Jets Fly To Playoff Win, 52-8
Sunday November 8, 2020
CRUISE CONTROL: NCA Jets Smack Eagles, 74-6
Sunday November 1, 2020
Escanaba Football Season Ends With Playoff Loss
Saturday October 31, 2020
ONE UP, ONE DOWN: Redmen Blast Puffer, 38-0
Saturday October 31, 2020
Negaunee Grinds Past Gladstone In Playoff Opener
Friday October 30, 2020
SURVIVE & ADVANCE: Rockets Rally; Beat 'Dogs
Thursday October 29, 2020
Pickford vs Stephenson Football Playoff Cancelled
Monday October 26, 2020
Jets Soar Past Stephenson To End Regular Season
Saturday October 24, 2020
DELTA COUNTY RIVALRY: Eskymos Rally, 20-12
Friday October 23, 2020
NCA Passes Road Test With Win Over Lake Linden
Saturday October 17, 2020
Gladstone Braves Have Rough Night In Menominee
Friday October 16, 2020
Esky Football Returns With JV Win Over Redmen
Thursday October 15, 2020
BATTLE OF UNBEATENS: Mustangs Stop Eagles
Saturday October 10, 2020
Braves Can't Overcome Mistakes, Lose Wild Game
Friday October 9, 2020
Kingsford JV's Top Gladstone; Rapid Varsity Wins
Thursday October 8, 2020
ROAD WARRIORS: Kelly, Potier (X2) Lead Braves
Friday October 2, 2020
Gladstone JV Football Team Powers Past Soo 24-6
Thursday October 1, 2020
Escanaba Football Team Rallies To Save Its Season
Tuesday September 29, 2020
Gov. Whitmer Won't Reconsider Athlete Mask Rule
Tuesday September 29, 2020
MHSAA Announces Changes For Football Playoffs
Monday September 28, 2020
North Central Dominates In Homecoming Victory
Saturday September 26, 2020
HAPPY IN HAPPY ROCK: Braves Football Is Back
Friday September 25, 2020
Westwood Tops Manistique In Season-Opener 44-0
Friday September 25, 2020
BOYS ARE BACK: North Central Rolls In Opener
Friday September 18, 2020
Gladstone vs Marquette Football Game Cancelled
Tuesday September 15, 2020
MHSAA: 'Can't Modify, Ignore' Whitmer Mask Rule
Friday September 11, 2020
Whitmer Orders Masks During High School Sports
Wednesday September 9, 2020
GAME ON! MHSAA Reinstates HS Football Season
Thursday September 3, 2020
Governor's Decision On High School Sports 'Soon'
Wednesday September 2, 2020
LET US PLAY!! Broncos, Jets Rally To Save Season
Friday August 28, 2020
U.P. Senator Calls Football Cancellation 'Ridiculous'
Tuesday August 25, 2020
Michigan High School Football Season Cancelled
Friday August 14, 2020