• Men's College Basketball 1/26: Michigan Tech 61, Northern Michigan 52
  • Women's College Basketball 1/26: Michigan Tech 55, Northern Michigan 46
4372 articles
Thursday January 28, 2021
Governor's Decision On High School Sports 'Soon'

CLICK the AUDIO button to hear the governor's comments

LANSING---
Governor Gretchen Whitmer gave no indication Wednesday afternoon that she will make the changes requested by the Michigan High School Athletic Association to move forward with football, and to allow some other sports to resume downstate.

In fact, the governor pointed to "concerning" case counts in the U.P. and northern lower peninsula while saying she'd have an announcement "very soon".

Whitmer's statements came as as the MHSAA waits for answers on whether the fall football season can be resurrected, and whether volleyball, swimming, and soccer can begin in lower Michigan. Volleyball and soccer can, for now at least, compete in the U.P.
 
The MHSAA says it all hinges on the governor altering Executive Order 160, which requires social distancing at all times. Whitmer, at Wednesday’s news conference, gave no indication that she’s inclined to do that.
 
“This has been a hard time for everyone. I want to make sure we get this right,” Whitmer said. “I’m not going to be pushed, or encouraged, or Tweeted at, to make a decision that isn’t supported by the best science, that doesn’t use the best protocols.”
 
Using a sports analogy, the governor said we “all need to be on the same team” to defeat COVID-19.
 
“With our numbers, as Dr. J (Joneigh Khaldun) articulated moments ago, especially in Regions Six and Eight (U.P. and northern Lower peninsula), we’re seeing numbers at a concerning level right now,” Whitmer said. “Being very mindful of continuing to follow the science and continuing to do what we’ve done to get us in a strong position.”
 
“The thing that is important is to keep doing what it takes to be safe. And that means mask wearing. If we want the possibility of sports, we’ve got to mask up so we don’t see these numbers go up.”
 
She said she would have an announcement “in short order on that front”.
 
Mark Uyl, the director of the Michigan High School Athletic Association, issued this statement.
 
“The MHSAA has been in constant contact with the Governor’s office seeking answers and direction for fall sports under EO 160 since that order was issued, expressing the urgency for these decisions on behalf of our member school students, staff and families,” Uyl said. “This direct communication will continue and we will take Governor Whitmer at her word today that decisions will be made and shared with everyone very soon. We will have no other comment or media availability until the Governor addresses these athletic questions.”
 
Whitmer’s final word on the issue Wednesday?
 
“I’m going to work with the Association to ensure that steps that are taken are absolutely tethered to the best science and keep our athletes and their families and our educators safe.”





Wilson Hired New Eskymo Varsity Football Coach
Monday January 18, 2021
ROLLIN' RAAB: Transfer Helps Jets Win State Title
Saturday January 16, 2021
U.P. HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL SCORES/SCHEDULES
Sunday January 10, 2021
WORTH THE WAIT: Jets Headed To State Finals
Saturday January 9, 2021
END OF THE LINE: Iron Mtn. Loses Heartbreaker
Saturday January 9, 2021
Escanaba Eskymos Football Coach Howes Resigning
Wednesday December 23, 2020
HS Football, Volleyball To Resume; Others Waiting
Friday December 18, 2020
Sportswriters Release 2020 All-U.P. Football Teams
Thursday December 17, 2020
MHSAA Council Takes No Action; Rally Set Friday
Wednesday December 9, 2020
CRUSHED: Jets Football Team Reacts To Shutdown
Monday December 7, 2020
MHSAA 'Disappointed' With Shutdown Extension
Monday December 7, 2020
MHSAA Releases Plan For Playoffs; Winter Sports
Wednesday November 18, 2020
Escanaba's Maki To Play Football At Michigan Tech
Wednesday November 18, 2020
MHSAA Halts Tournaments Following State Order
Sunday November 15, 2020
ON TO THE FINAL FOUR: Jets Roll Over Trojans
Friday November 13, 2020
STATEMENT MADE: Jets Fly To Playoff Win, 52-8
Sunday November 8, 2020
CRUISE CONTROL: NCA Jets Smack Eagles, 74-6
Sunday November 1, 2020
Escanaba Football Season Ends With Playoff Loss
Saturday October 31, 2020
ONE UP, ONE DOWN: Redmen Blast Puffer, 38-0
Saturday October 31, 2020
Negaunee Grinds Past Gladstone In Playoff Opener
Friday October 30, 2020
SURVIVE & ADVANCE: Rockets Rally; Beat 'Dogs
Thursday October 29, 2020
Pickford vs Stephenson Football Playoff Cancelled
Monday October 26, 2020
Jets Soar Past Stephenson To End Regular Season
Saturday October 24, 2020
DELTA COUNTY RIVALRY: Eskymos Rally, 20-12
Friday October 23, 2020
NCA Passes Road Test With Win Over Lake Linden
Saturday October 17, 2020
Gladstone Braves Have Rough Night In Menominee
Friday October 16, 2020
Esky Football Returns With JV Win Over Redmen
Thursday October 15, 2020
BATTLE OF UNBEATENS: Mustangs Stop Eagles
Saturday October 10, 2020
Braves Can't Overcome Mistakes, Lose Wild Game
Friday October 9, 2020
Kingsford JV's Top Gladstone; Rapid Varsity Wins
Thursday October 8, 2020
ROAD WARRIORS: Kelly, Potier (X2) Lead Braves
Friday October 2, 2020
Gladstone JV Football Team Powers Past Soo 24-6
Thursday October 1, 2020
Escanaba Football Team Rallies To Save Its Season
Tuesday September 29, 2020
Gov. Whitmer Won't Reconsider Athlete Mask Rule
Tuesday September 29, 2020
MHSAA Announces Changes For Football Playoffs
Monday September 28, 2020
North Central Dominates In Homecoming Victory
Saturday September 26, 2020
HAPPY IN HAPPY ROCK: Braves Football Is Back
Friday September 25, 2020
Westwood Tops Manistique In Season-Opener 44-0
Friday September 25, 2020
BOYS ARE BACK: North Central Rolls In Opener
Friday September 18, 2020
Gladstone vs Marquette Football Game Cancelled
Tuesday September 15, 2020
MHSAA: 'Can't Modify, Ignore' Whitmer Mask Rule
Friday September 11, 2020
Whitmer Orders Masks During High School Sports
Wednesday September 9, 2020
GAME ON! MHSAA Reinstates HS Football Season
Thursday September 3, 2020
LET US PLAY!! Broncos, Jets Rally To Save Season
Friday August 28, 2020
U.P. Senator Calls Football Cancellation 'Ridiculous'
Tuesday August 25, 2020
Michigan High School Football Season Cancelled
Friday August 14, 2020
U.P. High School Football Programs Get Donations
Tuesday August 11, 2020