• HS Football 9/25: Gladstone 22, Negaunee 20
  • HS Football 9/25: Calumet 27, Gwinn 0
  • HS Football 9/25: Rapid River 48, Engadine 6
  • HS Football 9/25: Iron Mountain 41, Bark River-Harris 6
  • HS Football 9/25: West Iron County 16, L'Anse 7
  • HS Football 9/25: Stephenson 72, Ontonagon 32
  • HS Football 9/25: Menominee 42, Marinette, Wis. 8
  • HS Football 9/25: Sault Ste. Marie 22, Marquette 16
4251 articles
Saturday September 26, 2020
HOLIDAY KICKOFF: Escanaba Rallies Past Felch

FELCH---The Escanaba "Mikey D's Beer Cave" baseball team scored four runs in the fifth inning to rally past the host Felch Rangers, 5-4, as the Labor Day weekend tournament began Friday night. Escanaba had just ten players available, and didn't hit the ball well, but they found a way to stay in the game early, and then pulled it out with a late rally.

Felch took a 4-1 lead in the top of the fifth inning after a two-run single by Joe Linn and an RBI single by Ethan Blagic.

The lead didn't grow, though, because Escanaba shortstop Hunter Lancour made two great defensive plays, the last of which a leaping catch of a line drive headed toward center field with the bases loaded and two out in the inning.

Escanaba used several walks in the bottom of the fifth to get back in it, and after two straight batters were called out on strikes when they thought they, too, had walks, Tyler Skufca got what was the team's only solid hit of the game.

Skufca lofted one to left field that the outfielder took a step in on, and the ball sailed over his head, allowing Tyler Lawson and Jake LaFave to score. Then Devin Olsen hit a slow roller to second base that was booted, and the go-ahead run scored.

In the seventh inning, as darkness fell on Dickinson County, Elliot Danhoff came in to preserve the win. The Gladstone High School graduate and current University of Wisconsin-Superior pitcher was throwing gas, as he struck out two of the three men he faced to end the game.

Caden Alworden had two hits for Escanaba. Kevin Evosovich had three hits for Felch.

Alex Morehouse, a two-year Bay College player from Sault Ste. Marie, pitched two innings of solid middle relief and earned the win on the mound. Riley Lamb started and walked six batters in three-plus innings, but he stranded eight men and allowed only two runs.

The tournament continues on Saturday and runs through Monday.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos, videos.







ANOTHER TIGHT ONE: IMKN Boys Fall In Qtrs.
Sunday August 9, 2020
IMKN U-19 Baseball Drops Two In Wisconsin Dells
Saturday August 8, 2020
Gladstone Indians Celebrate Successful '20 Season
Wednesday August 5, 2020
Escanaba 12-Under Bears Finish Second In Tourney
Saturday August 1, 2020
Escanaba 12-Under Bears Win Final Home Games
Thursday July 30, 2020
WILD FINISH: Menominee Caps Season With Title
Saturday July 25, 2020
Indians Advance To Semifinals; Escanaba Bows Out
Friday July 24, 2020
Escanaba Cubs Outlast Copper Country Flames, 7-5
Thursday July 23, 2020
SURVIVAL MODE: Indians Sneak Past Iron Mt. 2-1
Thursday July 23, 2020
RUNNING THE TABLE; Junior Cubs Win UP Title
Saturday July 18, 2020
Petoskey Royals AA Cruise Past Escanaba Cubs, 6-2
Friday July 17, 2020
SPLIT DECISION: Bucs, Red Wave Both Take One
Thursday July 16, 2020
Marquette Blues Hold Off Gladstone Indians, 6-4
Wednesday July 15, 2020
Gladstone Sweeps Sault To Complete 3-1 Weekend
Sunday July 12, 2020
LOSING STREAK OVER: Cubs Earn Walk-Off Win
Saturday July 11, 2020
Mistake-Prone Cubs Fall To Sheboygan In Opener
Friday July 10, 2020
Iron Mountain Strikes Early To Turn Back Indians
Thursday July 9, 2020
BEAT THE HEAT: Johnson, Iron Mountain Win 8-3
Wednesday July 8, 2020
Marquette Sweeps Doubleheader From Esky Cubs
Wednesday July 8, 2020
HANGING ON: Gladstone Survives Escanaba Rally
Tuesday July 7, 2020
Iron Mountain Cruises Past Escanaba In U-19 Play
Monday July 6, 2020
RIVALRY BATTLE: Indians Cruise Past Escanaba
Thursday July 2, 2020
DOMINATING PITCHING: Henriksen Leads Blues
Thursday July 2, 2020
HOLY COW! Esky Cubs Surprise Menominee, 8-2
Wednesday July 1, 2020
Marquette Stops Menominee; Cubs, Indians Rally
Monday June 29, 2020
SUNDAY BALL: Iron Mountain, Menominee Win
Sunday June 28, 2020
DOUBLE DIP: Cubs, Junior Cubs Win Tight Games
Friday June 26, 2020
Gladstone Tops Marquette To Earn First Win, 6-5
Thursday June 25, 2020
Bark River Bucs Drop Doubleheader In Marquette
Wednesday June 24, 2020
RIDE THE WAVE: Menominee Rolls Past Gladstone
Sunday June 21, 2020
Cubs Beat Negaunee; Lose Heartbreaker To Flames
Sunday June 21, 2020
Rain Washes Out Saturday’s Local Baseball Contests
Saturday June 20, 2020
HANGING ON: Cubs Hold Off Bucs In Opener, 9-7
Friday June 19, 2020
Marquette Blues Rally Past Gladstone Indians, 7-6
Friday June 19, 2020
Bucs Cruise To Sweep In Delta County First Games
Wednesday June 17, 2020
Marquette Blues Open Season With Win In Hancock
Tuesday June 16, 2020
Menominee Pitchers Shut Down Copper Country
Saturday June 13, 2020
BASEBALL IS BACK: U.P. League Plays First Game
Wednesday June 10, 2020
U.P. Baseball League Plans To Open Season June 19
Tuesday May 26, 2020
2020 American Legion Baseball Program Cancelled
Monday April 13, 2020