• HS Football Playoffs 10/30: Negaunee 28, Gladstone 14
  • HS Football Playoffs 10/30: Bark River-Harris 54, St. Ignace 20
  • HS Football Playoffs 10/30: Mancelona 36, Manistique 12
  • HS Football Playoffa 10/30: Gwinn 24, East Jordan 20
4288 articles
Saturday October 31, 2020
Escanaba Football Team Rallies To Save Its Season

ESCANABA---Sone members of the Escanaba High School football team gathered at the school on Tuesday to plead with administrators to allow sports to resume immediately.

This after Superintendent Coby Fletcher decided last week to have junior and high school classes be delivered over the Internet for two weeks, and put on hold all extracurricular activies.

“We’re just doing all we can to try to get our season back,” Escanaba senior Bryant Maki said. “It got taken away from us. We didn’t have anything to do with it. It’s frustrating because we’ve done everything that we’ve been told to. We followed all the protcols on the field and in the locker room. Our team has zero cases. Our team’s families have zero cases. Nothing’s happened to us, but we still got shut down.”

The football players, in particular, are urgently trying to get back on the field because they have not yet played a game, while every other school in the central U.P. has played at least one.

They also are concerned that only playing two or three games will not be enough for them to qualify for the state playoffs, which have been expanded this year to include 512 teams, rather than the usual 256.

Fletcher provided this statement to RRN News on football team’s rally: “We understand and appreciate how much our athletes want to continue their seasons. We look forward to resuming late next week.”

That statement would indicate that the Eskymos will be able to play Ludington next week, plus Marquette and Gladstone to close the season. All three games, though, are on the road, which means no home games for the Class of 2021.

The EHS volleyball team hasn't played in nearly two weeks, and even the cross country team had its meet cancelled Saturday and the Eskymos did not compete in Munising on Tuesday. In fact, top Eskymo runner Derek Douglas was one of the students at the rally.

Several volleyball players and cheerleaders also helped to have their voices heard.
 

In his Tuesday press release, Fletcher said that “COVID-19 spreads as actively among athletes and other participants in other extracurricular activities as it does in school.” He called the pause “unfortunate but necessary.”


Some parents have taken to social media in the past several days to demand a reversal of the decsiion, and some have called on the Escanaba School Board to intervene.

Click the video and photo buttons above to see more.








Negaunee Grinds Past Gladstone In Playoff Opener
Friday October 30, 2020
SURVIVE & ADVANCE: Rockets Rally; Beat 'Dogs
Thursday October 29, 2020
U.P. HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL SCORES/SCHEDULES
Thursday October 29, 2020
Pickford vs Stephenson Football Playoff Cancelled
Monday October 26, 2020
Jets Soar Past Stephenson To End Regular Season
Saturday October 24, 2020
DELTA COUNTY RIVALRY: Eskymos Rally, 20-12
Friday October 23, 2020
NCA Passes Road Test With Win Over Lake Linden
Saturday October 17, 2020
Gladstone Braves Have Rough Night In Menominee
Friday October 16, 2020
Esky Football Returns With JV Win Over Redmen
Thursday October 15, 2020
BATTLE OF UNBEATENS: Mustangs Stop Eagles
Saturday October 10, 2020
Braves Can't Overcome Mistakes, Lose Wild Game
Friday October 9, 2020
Kingsford JV's Top Gladstone; Rapid Varsity Wins
Thursday October 8, 2020
ROAD WARRIORS: Kelly, Potier (X2) Lead Braves
Friday October 2, 2020
Gladstone JV Football Team Powers Past Soo 24-6
Thursday October 1, 2020
Gov. Whitmer Won't Reconsider Athlete Mask Rule
Tuesday September 29, 2020
MHSAA Announces Changes For Football Playoffs
Monday September 28, 2020
North Central Dominates In Homecoming Victory
Saturday September 26, 2020
HAPPY IN HAPPY ROCK: Braves Football Is Back
Friday September 25, 2020
Westwood Tops Manistique In Season-Opener 44-0
Friday September 25, 2020
BOYS ARE BACK: North Central Rolls In Opener
Friday September 18, 2020
Gladstone vs Marquette Football Game Cancelled
Tuesday September 15, 2020
MHSAA: 'Can't Modify, Ignore' Whitmer Mask Rule
Friday September 11, 2020
Whitmer Orders Masks During High School Sports
Wednesday September 9, 2020
GAME ON! MHSAA Reinstates HS Football Season
Thursday September 3, 2020
Governor's Decision On High School Sports 'Soon'
Wednesday September 2, 2020
LET US PLAY!! Broncos, Jets Rally To Save Season
Friday August 28, 2020
U.P. Senator Calls Football Cancellation 'Ridiculous'
Tuesday August 25, 2020
Michigan High School Football Season Cancelled
Friday August 14, 2020
U.P. High School Football Programs Get Donations
Tuesday August 11, 2020