• HS Football Playoffs 10/30: Negaunee 28, Gladstone 14
  • HS Football Playoffs 10/30: Bark River-Harris 54, St. Ignace 20
  • HS Football Playoffs 10/30: Mancelona 36, Manistique 12
  • HS Football Playoffa 10/30: Gwinn 24, East Jordan 20
4288 articles
Saturday October 31, 2020
BATTLE OF UNBEATENS: Mustangs Stop Eagles

STEPHENSON---Kane Nebel threw a pair of first half touchdown passes to Ethan Lakosky to help the Munising Mustangs turn back the Stephenson Eagles, 28-14, Saturday in Stephenson.

Both teams entered the game with 3-0 records, with the Mustangs ranked No. 3 in the U.P. eight-man poll and the Eagles ranked fifth.

The Mustangs jumped to a 6-0 lead on Nebel's first touchdown pass to Lakoksky. But the Eagles bounced back with a seven-yard touchdown run by Jimmy Coldren, and the two-point run gave Stephenson the 8-6 lead. The lead didn't last long, as Nebel hooked up with Lakosky again, this time for a ten-yard touchdown, and Munising had a 12-8 lead.

The second quarter belonged to Munising, and in particular, running back Chad Trepczyk. He broke off a 50-yard run late in the quarter, setting up a Josiah Peramaki short touchdown run.

Trepczyk had 227 yards rushing in the game for the Mustangs.

Munising led, 20-8, at the half, but the Eagles had another bounce-nback drive as Canaan Elson scored from ten yards out. The Eagles could get no closer than that 20-14 score, however, as Nebel punched in a short touchdown run in the final minutes, and the underclassmen quarterback dumped off a two-point pass to Jacob Mattson to seal the victory.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and videos, and an post-game interview with Lakosky.









Negaunee Grinds Past Gladstone In Playoff Opener
Friday October 30, 2020
SURVIVE & ADVANCE: Rockets Rally; Beat 'Dogs
Thursday October 29, 2020
U.P. HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL SCORES/SCHEDULES
Thursday October 29, 2020
Pickford vs Stephenson Football Playoff Cancelled
Monday October 26, 2020
Jets Soar Past Stephenson To End Regular Season
Saturday October 24, 2020
DELTA COUNTY RIVALRY: Eskymos Rally, 20-12
Friday October 23, 2020
NCA Passes Road Test With Win Over Lake Linden
Saturday October 17, 2020
Gladstone Braves Have Rough Night In Menominee
Friday October 16, 2020
Esky Football Returns With JV Win Over Redmen
Thursday October 15, 2020
Braves Can't Overcome Mistakes, Lose Wild Game
Friday October 9, 2020
Kingsford JV's Top Gladstone; Rapid Varsity Wins
Thursday October 8, 2020
ROAD WARRIORS: Kelly, Potier (X2) Lead Braves
Friday October 2, 2020
Gladstone JV Football Team Powers Past Soo 24-6
Thursday October 1, 2020
Escanaba Football Team Rallies To Save Its Season
Tuesday September 29, 2020
Gov. Whitmer Won't Reconsider Athlete Mask Rule
Tuesday September 29, 2020
MHSAA Announces Changes For Football Playoffs
Monday September 28, 2020
North Central Dominates In Homecoming Victory
Saturday September 26, 2020
HAPPY IN HAPPY ROCK: Braves Football Is Back
Friday September 25, 2020
Westwood Tops Manistique In Season-Opener 44-0
Friday September 25, 2020
BOYS ARE BACK: North Central Rolls In Opener
Friday September 18, 2020
Gladstone vs Marquette Football Game Cancelled
Tuesday September 15, 2020
MHSAA: 'Can't Modify, Ignore' Whitmer Mask Rule
Friday September 11, 2020
Whitmer Orders Masks During High School Sports
Wednesday September 9, 2020
GAME ON! MHSAA Reinstates HS Football Season
Thursday September 3, 2020
Governor's Decision On High School Sports 'Soon'
Wednesday September 2, 2020
LET US PLAY!! Broncos, Jets Rally To Save Season
Friday August 28, 2020
U.P. Senator Calls Football Cancellation 'Ridiculous'
Tuesday August 25, 2020
Michigan High School Football Season Cancelled
Friday August 14, 2020
U.P. High School Football Programs Get Donations
Tuesday August 11, 2020