• HS Softball 4/21: Escanaba 22, Rapid River 0
  • HS Baseball 4/20: Bark River-Harris 9, Gladstone 1, Gm1
  • HS Baseball 4/20: Gladstone 14, Bark River-Harris 0, Gm2
4514 articles
Thursday April 22, 2021
Finlandia Still Hoping To Have Some Winter Sports

HANCOCK---Finlandia University management continues to meet diligently while they consider the most up-to-date information and data as it pertains to the COVID-19 pandemic and a safe return to play for their collegiate sport programs.

 

The group has agreed to reconvene the week of January 4th to allow for more fact-gathering.  At that time, the latest regional, local, NCAA and conference recommendations and guidelines will be considered when making a final decision regarding the resumption of the winter sports season.

 

“With the landscape of COVID-19 constantly changing, we need to wait as long as possible to give our student-athletes an opportunity to compete,” said athletic director Curtis Wittenberg.  “While we remain hopeful, we simultaneously share in the disappointment that our student-athletes feel in having championships canceled and seasons cut short.” 

 

If conditions allow, Finlandia would conduct a men’s and women’s basketball and men’s and women’s hockey schedule that will begin no earlier than Friday, February 5. 

This start date would allow for an opportunity for those student-athletes to compete, albeit a limited number of contests.

 

The Coast to Coast Athletic Conference for men’s and women’s basketball has already announced that there will not be any conference play, regular or conference championships for the winter sports season.

 

The Northern Collegiate Hockey Association for men’s and women’s hockey continues to work on putting together a limited schedule and championship.





Iron Mountain Dream Season Ends In State Finals
Saturday April 10, 2021
UP HS BOYS BASKETBALL SCORES/SCHEDULES
Saturday April 10, 2021
WONDER-FUL WIN! Mountaineers Advance In OT
Thursday April 8, 2021
END OF THE LINE: Eskymos Fall In State Quarters
Tuesday April 6, 2021
WINNER WINNER, ORIOLE DINNER! Esky Wins
Thursday April 1, 2021
SURVIVE & ADVANCE: Eskymos Hold Off Boyne
Tuesday March 30, 2021
PEDAL TO THE METAL: Eskymos Blast Gladstone
Thursday March 25, 2021
BR-H Pulls Away From Emeralds In Playoff Opener
Tuesday March 23, 2021
Mustangs Hand BR-H Broncos First Loss Of Season
Tuesday March 16, 2021
NO LETDOWN: Eskymos Cruise Past Miners, 56-35
Monday March 15, 2021
LIVING UP TO THE HYPE: Mountaineers Top Esky
Tuesday March 9, 2021
STILL PERFECT: BR-H Hangs On To Beat Norway
Monday March 8, 2021
STILL UNBEATEN: Eskymos Hold Off Menominee
Thursday February 25, 2021
WORKING OVERTIME: Braves Rally Past Maroons
Friday February 19, 2021
HEADING SOUTH: Frazer Signs With NAIA School
Thursday February 18, 2021
Gladstone Boys Beat Negaunee In Overtime, 62-52
Wednesday February 17, 2021
NEW SEASON, NEW KID: Victorson Lands In Esky
Tuesday February 9, 2021
'VERY FRUSTRATING': Wonders Wants BB Season
Tuesday January 26, 2021
COMING HOME: Cretens Named Braves BB Coach
Wednesday January 20, 2021