• HS Softball 4/21: Escanaba 22, Rapid River 0
  • HS Baseball 4/20: Bark River-Harris 9, Gladstone 1, Gm1
  • HS Baseball 4/20: Gladstone 14, Bark River-Harris 0, Gm2
4514 articles
Thursday April 22, 2021
Norse Men Close Regular Season With Home Loss

ESCANABA---The Bay College Norse men's basketball team gave up a 22-2 run in the first half and could not dig out of the hole, falling to Highland (Illinois) Community College, 78-66, on Saturday at the Bay College Gym.

The game was tied at 22-22 with 11:06 left in the half, but the Cougars scored ten straight points, and after a Chris Dobessi layup broke the run, Highland scored 12 more points to take a commanding 44-24 lead.

It was 46-29 at halftime, and Bay could not get the deficit under ten the rest of the way.

Highland (15-4) had five players score in double figures. Tony Eddy had 14 points, Anothony Washington added 13, and Justin Warren had 12 points and five assists. DeChaun Anderson had a double-double with ten points and 11 rebounds. Kendale Anderson chipped in ten points.

The Norse got 14 points from three different players: Dobessi, Ashton Janke, and Matt Wagner. 

Bay finished its regular season with an 8-14 record. But the Norse will be the top seed for, and will host, the NJCAA Region 13 tournament next weekend. There will be a play-in game on Friday night, and the Norse will play in the semifinals against that winner at 3:00.

Choose team:
No schedule entries



OH, SO CLOSE: Norse Lose Nailbiter In Title Game
Sunday April 4, 2021
Bay College Opens Regional With Win Over Tribes
Saturday April 3, 2021
Bay Norse Push Past Gogebic To Clinch Home Court
Wednesday March 24, 2021
Norse Men Drop Second Straight Home Game 77-62
Sunday March 21, 2021
NORSE FORCE! Bay Wins Entertaining OT Game
Saturday March 13, 2021
Bay College Drops Tight Game To Rochester Tech
Sunday March 7, 2021
LOST OPPORTUNITY: Norse Slump In Minnesota
Saturday March 6, 2021
FIVE IN A ROW: Norse Outlast Finlandia On Road
Wednesday March 3, 2021
WILD VICTORY: Norse Outlast DCTC In Overtime
Monday March 1, 2021
MUCH NEEDED WIN: Norse Top Finlandia, 78-72
Wednesday February 24, 2021
Bay College Men Roughed Up By Morton Panthers
Saturday February 20, 2021
Bay College Men Come Up Short; Fall To Stormers
Wednesday February 17, 2021
Norse Men Overwhelmed By No. 1 South Suburban
Sunday February 14, 2021
Wagner's 32 Points Not Enough In Loss To Morton
Saturday February 13, 2021
BETTER EFFORT: Norse Men Battle Triton In Loss
Friday February 12, 2021
FIRST VICTORY: Norse Men Beat Gogebic, 99-59
Wednesday February 10, 2021
Norse Rally Comes Up Short In Wisconsin, 69-62
Saturday January 30, 2021
Norse Men Overwhelmed Again By Triton College
Saturday January 23, 2021