• HS Boys Basketball 1/21: Menominee 51, North Central 26
  • HS Boys Basketball 1/21: Negaunee 51, Westwood 43
  • HS Hockey 1/21: Escanaba 7, Cadillac 0
  • HS Hockey 1/21: Gaylord 3, Negaunee 2 (OT)
  • HS Hockey 1/21: Manistique 4, Marquette JV 1
  • HS Girls Basketball 1/21: Escanaba 52, Bark River-Harris 44
  • HS Girls Basketball 1/21: Norway 40, North Dickinson 38 (OT)
4834 articles
Saturday January 22, 2022
NMU Sweeps Bay College In Basketball Exhibitions

Click the AUDIO burrons  to hear player spotlight interviews with NMU’s Max Bjorklund and Makaylee Kuhn. (NMU Photos)

MARQUETTE---The Northern Michigan Wildcats men's basketball team defeated the Bay College Norse, 82-65, Thursday night at the Berry Events Center.

Nick Wagner scored 20 points for NMU to lead all scorers. John Kerr and Dylan Keuhl each added 12 points. The Norse were led by Diang Gatlauck’s 14 points. Ashton Janke added 12 and Justin Nelson chipped in eight.

NMU started the game off high tempo in the opening eight minutes, as the Wildcats and the Norse played a back-and-forth game, reaching a score of 17-13 in favor of the 'Cats. As both teams played strong defensively, the 'Cats looked to pull ahead during the first 20 minutes of play.

The Wildcats pushed the pace in the final five minutes of the half, as they looked to take a strong advantage before halftime. NMU guard Nick Wagner made a picture perfect three-pointer to get the crowd cheering as the 'Cats took a 49-31 lead at the half.

During the last five minutes of play, NMU held the Norse to two minutes of scoreless play, while the 'Cats were able to put up another six. The Wildcats finished a strong offensive game with a final score of 82-65 in favor of the 'Cats.

A strong defensive game for Sam Schultz as he pulled down six rebounds in his 10:33 on the court.

In the ladies game, NMU led 51-7 at halftime and rolled to a 103-29 win over the Norse. Andrea Perez had 13 points, Madigan Johns 12, and Makaylee Kuhn added ten for NMU. Madison Olsen scored nine points for Bay.

The 'Cats started the game off hot, with a run of 15-3 to start the opening quarter vs. Bay College. Northern was able to keep the momentum through the entirety of the first quarter, with a score of 19-6 after 10 minutes.

NMU outscored Bay 32-1 in the second quarter.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



NMU Basketball Opens Homestand With 91-79 Win
Thursday January 20, 2022
SO CLOSE! Norse Men Nearly Upset No. 1 Bulldogs
Saturday January 15, 2022
Kerr Goes Wild As Wildcats Pick Up Win In Detroit
Saturday January 15, 2022
DOWN TO THE WIRE: 'Cats Fall In Saginaw, 87-85
Thursday January 13, 2022
Shorthanded Norse Battle, Fall To Madison In OT
Friday January 7, 2022
Wildcats Pick Up 1st GLIAC Basketball Win, 90-59
Thursday January 6, 2022
Norse Open '22 With 106-74 Loss To Dakota County
Wednesday January 5, 2022
DOMINATING EFFORT: 'Cats Roll Past Finlandia
Sunday January 2, 2022
EMPTY TRIP: Norse Lose 2nd Game In Minnesota
Sunday December 19, 2021
6th-Ranked RCTC Gets Better Of Norse Men Again
Saturday December 18, 2021
Norse Cruise Past Harper; Sunday Game Cancelled
Sunday December 12, 2021
Hudson Helps Norse Rally Past Lumberjacks, 72-66
Wednesday December 8, 2021
MOTOR CITY RALLY: Flaniken, Norse Top Raiders
Saturday December 4, 2021
Rough Start Costs Norse In Loss At Macomb, 70-59
Friday December 3, 2021
RAINING THREES: Bay Men Outshoot Leech Lake
Tuesday November 30, 2021
NMU Men's Basketball Drops Two Games At Home
Sunday November 28, 2021
CRUISE CONTROL: Shorthanded Norse Get Victory
Saturday November 27, 2021
NMU Men's Basketball Team Rolls To Sunday Win
Monday November 22, 2021
Norse Come Up Short Against Ninth-Ranked MATC
Sunday November 21, 2021
Norse Men Slip Past Harper; Milwaukee Tech Next
Friday November 19, 2021
Bay College Grinds Past Mesabi In All-Norse Battle
Saturday November 13, 2021
HAPPY HOMECOMING: Johnson, Bay Win, 94-67
Friday November 12, 2021
129-30: Bay College Dominates Lake Superior JV's
Monday November 8, 2021
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Hold Off Glen Oaks
Saturday November 6, 2021
OPENING VICTORY: Norse Men Roll Past Kellogg
Friday November 5, 2021