News ticker

2850 articles
Sunday October 22, 2017
Tech Wins WCHA Title; Heads To Cincy For NCAA

HOUGHTON---Shane Hanna scored midway through the second overtime to give the Michigan Tech University Huskies a 3-2 win victory over Bowling Green State in the WCHA Championship Game Saturday night in Houghton.

Michigan Tech gets an automatic NCAA Tournament bid with the WCHA championship.

The NCAA announced on Sunday the Field of 16 for the hockey national tournament. The Michigan Tech Huskies are the #4 seed in the NCAA Midwest Regional and will play Denver University in the first round next Saturday (March 25) at 1:00 in Cincinnati, Ohio. It will be broadcast live on ESPN News (Channel 207 on DirecTV, Channel 142 on Dish Network).

On Saturday, the Huskies grabbed a 2-0 lead in the first period when Joel L'Esperance scored at the 4:53 mark, and Jake Jackson scored 12:25 into the game.

It stayed 2-0 until the Falcons got two goals 24 seconds apart in the third period from Joe McKeown and Matt Pohlkamp.

It remained tied until 6:35 into the second overtime period when Hanna scored, with Matt Roy drawing the lone assist.

Angus Redmond earned the win in net for the Huskies, stopping 36 of 38 shots.

OTHER HOCKEY CONFERENCE CHAMPIOSNHIP GAMES
Big Ten: Penn State 2, Wisconsin 1 (2-OT)
NCHC: Minnesota-Duluth 4, North Dakota 3
NCHC 3rd Place: Denver 3, Western Michigan 1
Hockey East: UMass-Lowell 4, Boston College 3
ECAC: Harvard 2, Cornell 1
AHA: Air Force 2, Robert Morris 1

Choose team:
No schedule entries



Michigan Tech Names Shawhan New Hockey Coach
Tuesday May 30, 2017
Northern, Tech To Play Hockey In Las Vegas In '18
Tuesday May 2, 2017
Michigan Tech's Heinonen Signs With K-zoo Wings
Wednesday March 29, 2017
Michigan Tech Hockey Season Ends In NCAA's, 5-2
Saturday March 25, 2017
Michigan Tech Posts 'Goulden' WCHA Playoff Win!
Sunday March 12, 2017
Former Michigan Tech Captain Re-called By Devils
Sunday March 12, 2017
Wildcats Top Huskies To Clinch Post-Season Berth
Saturday February 25, 2017
Tech Hockey Team Loses Heartbreaker In Overtime
Friday December 30, 2016
Huskies Blank Wolverines To Advance To GLI Final
Thursday December 29, 2016
Michigan Tech Hockey Earns Split Against Bemidji
Saturday December 3, 2016
Tech Hockey Team Spends Thanksgiving In Alaska
Thursday November 24, 2016
Huskies Shut Out Northern On 'Hall of Fame Night'
Friday October 28, 2016
Michigan Tech Hockey Swept After Late UMD Goal
Sunday October 2, 2016