News ticker

2755 articles
Saturday August 19, 2017
POWER OUTAGE: Eskymos Fall To Marquette, 4-1

ESCANABA---The Marquette Redmen scored four runs early in the game and then held off the Escanaba Eskymos, 4-1, Wednesday night at Al Ness Field.

The Eskymos had plenty of chances to score, but as has happened a lot this season, they could not get the big hit.

Garrett Finkbeiner scattered four hits over five innings on the mound for Marquette, and Blake Henrikson wiggled off the hook in each of the last two innings for the save.

Marquette scored twice in the second inning after Escanaba starting pitcher Johnny Schlenvogt had retired the first five batters in order. Finkbeiner started the rally with a hit, and then Brendan Kaski followed with a single. John Thomson then hit one to the left side that trickled past the Eskymo infielders, scoring both Finkbeiner and Kaski.

In the third inning, Henrikson led off with a walk. Alec Beauchamp bunted him to second base, and Tyler Delmont followed with an RBI double. That made it 3-0, and then Hunter Doucette ripped an RBI double of his own, making it 4-0 Redmen.

Escanaba scored its only run in the bottom of the fourth inning when freshman Josh Bruntgens hit one just out of the reach of the left fielder, bringing Jake Anderson home.

The Eskymos, however, stranded two men on base in four different innings, and had another man thrown out at the plate.

Schlenvogt took the loss on the mound, allowing four runs on six hits. Parker LaMarch threw well in relief, pitching four innings of one-hit ball. He also walked two batters.

Escanaba fell to 4-4 on the season. The Eskymos travel to Waupun, Wis., for a tournament on Friday and Saturday. They return home on April 27 against Negaunee.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS above to see photos taken by Micky LaMarch.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



Indians Hold On For Soggy Victory Over Cubs, 10-6
Thursday June 22, 2017
MISSED OPPORTUNITY: Eskymo Season Ends, 2-1
Tuesday May 30, 2017
Hanson Comes Up Big; Gladstone Edges Escanaba
Thursday May 25, 2017
Eskymo Seniors Honored; NCA Jets Earn DH Split
Tuesday May 23, 2017
ALL WET: Rain Gets Better Of Eskymos, Marines
Monday May 22, 2017
Eskymos Top Bulldogs, Miners; Win Tourney Title
Saturday May 20, 2017
WALK-OFF WIN: Bruntjens Hit Caps Eskymo Rally
Friday May 19, 2017
Eskymos Win Close Games To Take Tourney Title
Sunday May 14, 2017
RUBBER MATCH: Braves Strike Early To Beat Esky
Thursday May 11, 2017
LaMarch Comes Up Clutch As Eskymos Earn Sweep
Wednesday May 10, 2017
STREAK OVER: Eskymos Fall Twice In Wisconsin
Saturday May 6, 2017
Kamin Three-Hitter Leads Eskymos Past Negaunee
Friday May 5, 2017
ROLE REVERSAL: Eskymos 'Ten-Run' Braves, 12-1
Tuesday May 2, 2017
Eskymos Shiver, Sweep Doubleheader In Kewaunee
Saturday April 29, 2017
Popelka One-Hitter Leads Eskymos Past Kingsford
Tuesday April 25, 2017
RUNNING WILD: Braves Overwhelm Eskymos 10-1
Tuesday April 18, 2017
Eskymos Turn Back Iron Mtn In Baseball Debut 9-2
Monday April 17, 2017
Eskymos Take Foggy, Soggy Win Over Eagles, 12-5
Saturday April 15, 2017
Broncos, Redmen Open Season With Doubleheader
Thursday April 13, 2017
Eskymos Outlast Knights In Baseball Home Opener
Wednesday April 12, 2017
Escanaba Settles For Split At Wisconsin Dells Invite
Friday April 7, 2017
Escanaba High School Baseball Holds Fundraisers
Sunday February 19, 2017