News ticker

3352 articles
Monday October 22, 2018
Gladstone Baseball Prepares For Regional Tourney

PETOSKEY---The Gladstone High School baseball team traveled downstate to Petoskey and practiced on Friday to get ready for this weekend's MHSAA Division Three regional tournament, which will be held in nearby Charlevoix.

The Braves will face the Boyne City Ramblers in the semifinals, and if they win, will likely face the top-ranked team in the state, Traverse City St. Francis, in the final.

The Braves won their fifth straight district championship last weekend with victories over Superior Central and Menominee.

They improved their record to 29-4 on the season, but the Braves know that they will need to step up their game on Saturday.

"I just think we're going to have to play solid baseball, both offensively and defensively," Gladstone Manager Don Lauscher said. "Like I said before, We've got to play hard, smart, and fast baseball. If we do that, I think we'll be just fine. If we bring our 'A' game, I think we'll beat them."

"We've been working on bunting, fielding, working on the middle infield," Gladstone senior third baseman Lucas Weinert said. "Making sure that we're sharp on defense. Lots of small ball, focus, defense, hitting. We've got to hit the entire game. We can't just hit one or two innings because they're going to be gunning for us every inning."

"Lot of focus, playing hard, and hitting like we have been the last few weeks," Braves senior catcher Braeden Lamberg agreed. "I'd like to get another shot at Casey (St. Francis pitcher Peterson). It would mean a lot to get back to MSU."

Lamberg, Weinert, and fellow seniors Owen Hanson and Clay Cole played at Michigan State University as freshmen four years ago.

They were crushed in their efforts to get back there last season by Traverse City St. Francis, 9-0.

This year, the Gladiators are 30-1 and are the defending state runners-up.

"They're 30-1 but that means nothing when it comes to tournament time," Lauscher said. "If we can match what we do in the first game, hopefully, and we play sound defense and hit the ball, and 'small ball' if we need to, I think we can beat them."

But before the Braves get another shot at St. Francis, the Gladiators will have to first avoid a letdown against the Calumet Copper Kings, who finished 10-7 in a snow-shortened season in the Keweenaw. And Gladstone will have to beat a tough Boyne City team, which the Braves faced in the 2016 regionals.

The Calumet-St. Francis game starts at 10:00, with the Braves-Ramblers contest set to start shortly after 12:00 noon. The Gladstone game will be broadcast live on WCHT-AM (NewsTalk 600) and on-line at www.rrnsports.com.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos, videos from Friday's practice, and to see video interviews.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



Gladstone Indians Sweep Doubleheader From Sault
Sunday July 15, 2018
Gladstone Indians Bats Overwhelm Bark River Bucs
Tuesday July 10, 2018
Gladstone Tops Bark River To Win Soo Tournament
Sunday July 8, 2018
ROUGH NIGHT: Six Errors Sink Cubs In Gladstone
Tuesday July 3, 2018
UP Teams Have Rough Finish At Marinette Tourney
Sunday July 1, 2018
TAKE TWO: Indians Beat Manitowoc, GB Shockers
Saturday June 30, 2018
Gladstone Dominates Pulaski In Firecracker Opener
Friday June 29, 2018
Braves Celebrate Most Successful Baseball Season
Monday June 25, 2018
LUCKY 6: DePere Scores Six Runs In Sixth For Title
Sunday June 24, 2018
Indians Drop Semifinal Game To Midland Berryhill
Sunday June 24, 2018
LATE NIGHT WALK-OFF: Cubs Outlast Bark River
Saturday June 23, 2018
Last-Minute Rally Falls Short For Gladstone Indians
Friday June 22, 2018
Indians Take Advantage Of Cub Mistakes In Opener
Thursday June 21, 2018
Gladstone's Clay Cole Named To D3 All-State Team
Monday June 18, 2018
END OF THE LINE: Braves, Lauscher Fall In Semis
Friday June 15, 2018
WINNING UGLY: Braves Overcome Mistakes, 3-2
Tuesday June 12, 2018
Braves Trying To Keep Championship Dream Alive
Monday June 11, 2018
WHAT A FEELING!!! Braves Stun No. 1 St. Francis
Saturday June 9, 2018
Gladstone, North Central Get Ready For Regionals
Tuesday June 5, 2018
Gladstone Capture Baseball, Softball District Titles
Saturday June 2, 2018
Braves Close Regular Season With Win Over Miners
Monday May 28, 2018
Gladstone, Marquette Split Baseball Doubleheader
Friday May 25, 2018
DEFENSIVE BATTLE: Hornets Sneak Past Braves
Thursday May 24, 2018
PITCHING RULES: Hanson No-Hitter Paces Braves
Tuesday May 22, 2018
Gladstone Tops Marquette In Baseball Home Finale
Thursday May 17, 2018
Braves Reward Seniors With Win Over Menominee
Monday May 14, 2018
Shea, Hanson Pitch Gladstone Past Sault Ste. Marie
Friday May 11, 2018
ROARING BACK: Braves Complete Rivalry Sweep
Thursday May 10, 2018
DOING THE SPLITS: Braves, Redmen Trade Wins
Thursday May 3, 2018
Gladstone Rallies To Stop Escanaba In Showdown
Tuesday May 1, 2018
Gladstone Settles For DH Split In Icy Sturgeon Bay
Saturday April 28, 2018
PLAY BALL!!! Baseball Season Finally Gets Started
Monday April 23, 2018
Opening Baseball Tournament Cancelled By Snow
Wednesday April 4, 2018