• College Hockey 11/29: Lake Superior State 2, Adrian College 1
  • College Basketball 11/29: Michigan 81, Oakland University 71 (OT)
4312 articles
Tuesday December 1, 2020
MHSAA Releases Plan For Playoffs; Winter Sports

EAST LANSING---The Representative Council of the Michigan High School Athletic Association approved today an adjusted schedule to restart and conclude Fall Tournaments in football, girls volleyball and girls swimming & diving, and also to resume Winter sports after the three-week “pause” in activity ordered by the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) scheduled to end Dec. 9.

The MDHHS announced Nov. 15 a three-week pause to various activities including school sports, effective Nov. 18, in hopes of halting the state’s rising infections due to COVID-19.

The volleyball and swimming & diving tournaments have one week remaining, with MHSAA Finals for both previously scheduled for Nov. 21. The 11 and 8-Player Football Playoffs also are nearing their conclusions, with the 8-player postseason two games from completion and 11-player down to its final three rounds. Winter practices for all but boys basketball, bowling, skiing and wrestling had begun for high school teams.

If allowed by the MDHHS, practice would resume for all three Fall sports Dec. 9, with tournaments scheduled as follows:
  • Volleyball: Quarterfinals in all four divisions would be played Tuesday, Dec. 15, with Semifinals played Dec. 17-18 and Finals on Saturday, Dec. 19. Those final two rounds would be played at Battle Creek’s Kellogg Arena, as previously scheduled.
  • Swimming & Diving: All three Lower Peninsula Finals would be conducted Tuesday, Dec. 22 (diving) and Wednesday, Dec. 23 (swimming) with three high schools each hosting one meet. This allows for a two-week practice window for all participating swimmers who previously met and entered qualification times, and for divers who previously qualified at Regional meets.
  • Football: 11-Player Regional Finals and 8-Player Semifinals would be played Tuesday, Dec. 15, and Wednesday Dec. 16; 11-Player Semifinals and 8-Player Finals would be played Dec. 21-22, the 8-player championship games at Midland Community Stadium; 11-Player Finals will be played Monday, Dec. 28, and Tuesday Dec. 29 at Ford Field.
For Winter sports, the Council approved resuming practices on Dec. 9 if allowed by the MDHHS, with competition to begin Jan. 4.

“We understand where COVID numbers were trending, and that’s why we have been supportive of the order to pause,” MHSAA Executive Director Mark Uyl said. “But these Fall sports deserve closure, and this strategy provides the best opportunities without further interruptions to a normal course of training and competition.

“A very small percentage of our teams remain active in our Fall tournaments, also limiting potential exposure to the virus across the state. Meanwhile, by waiting until January to begin Winter competition, the Council is allowing our teams to continue activity but also restricting the mixing of communities to further promote reducing COVID spread.”

The Council meets again Dec. 4 for its annual Fall Meeting, and at that time will consider possible tournament adjustments necessary due to the shortened Winter competition season.

U.P. HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL SCORES/SCHEDULES
Monday November 23, 2020
Escanaba's Maki To Play Football At Michigan Tech
Wednesday November 18, 2020
MHSAA Halts Tournaments Following State Order
Sunday November 15, 2020
ON TO THE FINAL FOUR: Jets Roll Over Trojans
Friday November 13, 2020
STATEMENT MADE: Jets Fly To Playoff Win, 52-8
Sunday November 8, 2020
CRUISE CONTROL: NCA Jets Smack Eagles, 74-6
Sunday November 1, 2020
Escanaba Football Season Ends With Playoff Loss
Saturday October 31, 2020
ONE UP, ONE DOWN: Redmen Blast Puffer, 38-0
Saturday October 31, 2020
Negaunee Grinds Past Gladstone In Playoff Opener
Friday October 30, 2020
SURVIVE & ADVANCE: Rockets Rally; Beat 'Dogs
Thursday October 29, 2020
Pickford vs Stephenson Football Playoff Cancelled
Monday October 26, 2020
Jets Soar Past Stephenson To End Regular Season
Saturday October 24, 2020
DELTA COUNTY RIVALRY: Eskymos Rally, 20-12
Friday October 23, 2020
NCA Passes Road Test With Win Over Lake Linden
Saturday October 17, 2020
Gladstone Braves Have Rough Night In Menominee
Friday October 16, 2020
Esky Football Returns With JV Win Over Redmen
Thursday October 15, 2020
BATTLE OF UNBEATENS: Mustangs Stop Eagles
Saturday October 10, 2020
Braves Can't Overcome Mistakes, Lose Wild Game
Friday October 9, 2020
Kingsford JV's Top Gladstone; Rapid Varsity Wins
Thursday October 8, 2020
ROAD WARRIORS: Kelly, Potier (X2) Lead Braves
Friday October 2, 2020
Gladstone JV Football Team Powers Past Soo 24-6
Thursday October 1, 2020
Escanaba Football Team Rallies To Save Its Season
Tuesday September 29, 2020
Gov. Whitmer Won't Reconsider Athlete Mask Rule
Tuesday September 29, 2020
MHSAA Announces Changes For Football Playoffs
Monday September 28, 2020
North Central Dominates In Homecoming Victory
Saturday September 26, 2020
HAPPY IN HAPPY ROCK: Braves Football Is Back
Friday September 25, 2020
Westwood Tops Manistique In Season-Opener 44-0
Friday September 25, 2020
BOYS ARE BACK: North Central Rolls In Opener
Friday September 18, 2020
Gladstone vs Marquette Football Game Cancelled
Tuesday September 15, 2020
MHSAA: 'Can't Modify, Ignore' Whitmer Mask Rule
Friday September 11, 2020
Whitmer Orders Masks During High School Sports
Wednesday September 9, 2020
GAME ON! MHSAA Reinstates HS Football Season
Thursday September 3, 2020
Governor's Decision On High School Sports 'Soon'
Wednesday September 2, 2020
LET US PLAY!! Broncos, Jets Rally To Save Season
Friday August 28, 2020
U.P. Senator Calls Football Cancellation 'Ridiculous'
Tuesday August 25, 2020
Michigan High School Football Season Cancelled
Friday August 14, 2020
U.P. High School Football Programs Get Donations
Tuesday August 11, 2020