• HS Softball Finals 6/15: D2: Escanaba 7, Stevensville-Lakeshore 3
  • D1: Warren Regina 3, Howell 2 (8 Innings)
  • D4: Unionville-Sebewaing 3, Kalamazoo Christian 1
  • D3: Millington vs Schoolcraft
  • HS Baseball Finals 6/15: D1: Portage Northen 10, Rockford 4
  • D2: Orchard Lake St. Mary 8, Grand Rapids CC 1
  • D3: Homer 4, GPW University Liggett 0
  • D4: Saginaw Nouvel vs Petersburg-Summerfield
3678 articles
Saturday June 15, 2019
Opportunistic Gremlins Shut Down Eskymos, 5-1

WELLS--The Houghton Gremlins hockey team scored a pair of quick goals on two separate occasions and played stingy defense Friday night to beat the Escanaba Eskymos, 5-1, at the Wells Sports Complex.

The Gremlins allowed just nine shots on goal while putting up 32 of their own.

The game was scoreless after the first period, and the Eskymos looked like they were in business when the Gremlins took a five-minute major penalty for boarding. But it was Houghton that controlled the play for much of that time, and the Gremlins cashed in with a pair of shorthanded goals, 20 seconds apart, both by Jiseung Choi.

Then in the final minute of the period, Houghton scored two more goals, 48 seconds apart, as Justin Norkol scored from a sharp angle and Brad Gauthier deflected a shot with less than seven seconds left in the second period. That made it a 4-0 game heading into the intermission break.

The Gremlins got one more goal, from Gauthier, just 46 seconds into the third period, before Escanaba's Devin Fisher scored with 35 seconds left in the game to make it 5-1.

Houghton goaltender Matt Ryynanen had an easy time of it, making eight saves for the victory. Escanaba goalie Bryce Buchbinder played well in sretches and made some nice saves, finishing with a total of 27 stops on 32 Houghton shots on net.

Houghton improved to 8-2-1 on the season while Escanaba fell to 3-6-0.

Escanaba travels to the Michigan Tech University campus on Dec. 29 for a game against Painesdale-Jeffers.

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and a video of Fisher's goal taken by Micky LaMarch. Also listen to an interview with student managers Robert Bichler and Cooper LaMarch.











Choose team:
No schedule entries



MHSAA To Lengthen High School Hockey Playoffs
Saturday March 30, 2019
Escanaba Wraps Up Hockey Season With Banquet
Tuesday March 19, 2019
U.P. HIGH SCHOOL HOCKEY PLAYOFF SCORES
Saturday March 9, 2019
Bergwall, Redmen Capture Regional Championship
Thursday February 28, 2019
PLAYOFF VICTORY: Eskymos Shut Out Negaunee
Tuesday February 26, 2019
Escanaba Falls To Jeffers Jets On Senior Day, 5-3
Saturday February 23, 2019
ROAD WARRIORS: Escanaba Hockey Wins Again
Wednesday February 13, 2019
SUCCESSFUL TRIP: Eskymos Win At Showcase 6-4
Monday February 11, 2019
Escanaba Drops Opener At Public School Showcase
Thursday February 7, 2019
Krutina, Bourdeau Rally Eskymos Past Miners, 7-5
Tuesday January 29, 2019
FLATTENED: Marquette Dominates Escanaba, 6-0
Thursday January 17, 2019
Eskymos Can't Hold Early Lead; Settle For TC Split
Saturday January 12, 2019
SERIES SWEEP: Eskymos Blank Tawas Again, 8-0
Saturday January 5, 2019
HOME COOKING: Eskymos Dominate Tawas, 16-0
Friday January 4, 2019
Late Hockey Comeback Falls Short For Eskymos 4-3
Tuesday December 18, 2018
Krutina Boys Lead Eskymos To Win Over Negaunee
Monday December 3, 2018
ON THE BOARD: Eskymos Get 1st Hockey Victory
Thursday November 29, 2018
Redmen Skate Past Eskymos In Rivalry Match-Up
Tuesday November 27, 2018
Escanaba High School Hockey Practice Under Way
Thursday November 8, 2018