News ticker

1373 articles
Saturday December 20, 2014
Falish, Skufca Lead Eskymos To Victory

ESCANABA---The Escanaba High School baseball team needed a better performance on Friday after suffering through two poor efforts in Marinette and Kingsford.

Junior pitcher David Falish provided that boost by throwing a complete-game four-hitter, and the defense was good behind him as the Eskymos beat the Alpena Wildcats, 8-2, at Al Ness Field.

Escanaba made just one error in the game, after making 11 in the last two games.

"We had to 'right the train', so to speak," Eskymo Manager Kirk Schwalbach said. "The boys know that. They're capable of playing with Mt. Pleasant, and they're capable of playing with other teams, too. We can't throw the ball around and give a team six or seven extra outs a game. We're not good enough to win games like that."

"Today went a lot better," Falish said. "We were just trying to do all the little things right. It worked out."

Amongst the ten Eskymos hits in Friday's game were two by freshman Tyler Skufca. He had three hits in the loss to Kingsford on Thursday, and Skufca stayed hot by driving in a run in the second inning and two more in the third inning as Escanaba built a 5-0 lead.

"It was just a tomahawk, pretty much," Skufca said about his double down the left field line. "I was just trying to hit it. And, I thought it was foul, but I guess not."


Alternative content

Tyler Skufca drives home two runs.
"Tyler is stepping up," Schwalbach said. "He's getting an opportunity, and he's taking advantage. He's done a great job over there (at third). He doesn't play like he's a freshman. He gets the bat on the ball most every time he gets up. I can't say enough about him."

Escanaba took a 1-0 lead in the second inning as Falish scored on Skufca's first hit. The Eskymos left the bases loaded that inning, but came up with a big inning in the third.

Eskymo senior catcher Alex DeHaan.
Nick Vandermissen was safe on an error, then Alex DeHaan and Falish both got hit by pitches. Bailey Lamb came through with a two-run single to make it 3-0, then Skufca hit his ball down the left field line to plate two more runs and it was a 5-0 game.

Then, in the fourth inning, the Eskymos put it away with three more runs. An error, a walk, and RBI hits by Vandermissen and Falish got the job done.

"I was just hitting their curveballs and I hit them to the opposite field," Falish said. "Well, the one, I hit off the end of the bat. It got through there, somehow."

Alpena (13-13) got two runs in the sixth inning on an RBI infield single by Luke Cordes and an error by right fielder Jake Rodman. The bases were loaded with one out as Falish walked two men, but he struck out Jim Schepke and Chandler Bloom to end the threat.

"Coach was just telling me to throw strikes and to keep coming over the top," Falish said. "It just worked out, I guess."

David Falish tossed a four-hitter.
Alpena was led by Dylan Glennie, who had three of the four hits that Falish yielded.

Escanaba (16-9) returns to action on Saturday with a four-team tournament at Al Ness Field.

Negaunee faces Alpena at 10:00 in the morning, then the Eskymos will take on the Petoskey Northmen at 12:30. The Eskymo-Northmen game will be broadcast live on WCHT-AM (600), and on-line at www.rrnsports.com.

Click the thumbnails in the "ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS" box to see pictures and videos, and listen to audio from the game. Thanks to Holly Bockman for her help.




Alternative content

Alternative content

Alternative content





Choose team:
Date Time Opponent Score Record
4/10
5:30 PM
Marquette Redmen
12 - 2 (W)
1-0
4/11
5:00 PM
at Norway Knights
13 - 0 (W)
2-0
4/13
4:00 PM
Rudyard Bulldogs
9 - 0 (W)
3-0
4/13
6:30 PM
Rudyard Bulldogs
9 - 4 (W)
4-0
4/14
12:30 PM
Shawano Hawks
1 - 7 (L)
4-1
4/14
3:00 PM
Shawano Hawks
0 - 1 (L)
4-2
4/17
5:30 PM
Norway Knights
17 - 0 (W)
5-2
4/19
6:00 PM
Kingsford Legion Blues
14 - 7 (W)
6-2
4/21
1:00 PM
at Appleton North Lightning
3 - 7 (L)
6-3
4/21
3:30 PM
at Appleton North Lightning
1 - 12 (L)
6-4
4/24
6:00 PM
Stephenson Eagles
14 - 4 (W)
7-4
4/26
5:00 PM
Negaunee Miners
6 - 5 (W)
8-4
4/28
12:00 PM
at Saginaw Heritage Hawks
7 - 3 (W)
9-4
4/28
2:30 PM
at Mt. Pleasant Oilers
2 - 5 (L)
9-5
5/2
6:00 PM
at Stephenson Eagles
12 - 2 (W)
10-5
5/4
5:30 PM
at DePere Redbirds
5 - 6 (L)
10-6
5/5
12:30 PM
Negaunee Miners
3 - 2 (W)
11-6
5/5
5:00 PM
Marquette Redmen
7 - 1 (W)
12-6
5/9
7:30 PM
at Gladstone Indians
4 - 5 (L)
12-7
5/10
5:30 PM
at Marquette Redmen
14 - 3 (W)
13-7
5/12
12:00 PM
Sault Ste. Marie Blue Devils
11 - 3 (W)
14-7
5/12
2:20 PM
Sault Ste. Marie Blue Devils
10 - 0 (W)
15-7
5/15
5:00 PM
at Marinette Marines
3 - 13 (L)
15-8
5/17
6:00 PM
at Kingsford Legion Blues
7 - 8 (L)
15-9
5/18
7:00 PM
Alpena Wildcats
8 - 2 (W)
16-9
5/19
12:30 PM
Petoskey Northmen
2 - 4 (L)
16-10
5/19
5:00 PM
Negaunee Miners
6 - 3 (W)
17-10
5/24
5:00 PM
at Negaunee Miners
15 - 8 (W)
18-10
5/26
10:00 AM
at Shepherd
5 - 6 (L)
18-11
5/26
12:00 PM
at Alpena Wildcats
9 - 0 (W)
19-11
5/26
2:30 PM
at Sault Ste. Marie Blue Devils
5 - 6 (L)
19-12
5/30
6:00 PM
Gladstone Indians
3 - 4 (L)
19-13
6/4
2:30 PM
at Cheboygan Chiefs
9 - 7 (W)
20-13
6/4
6:00 PM
at Petoskey Northmen
9 - 2 (W)
21-13
6/9
12:30 PM
at Remus Chippewa Hills
1 - 8 (L)
21-14



2012 ESCANABA CUBS TEAM ROSTER
Sunday August 26, 2012
Up-And-Down Cubs Season Ends In Shutout Loss
Friday August 3, 2012
Cubs Blow 5-0 Lead; Fall In Ten At State Tourney
Thursday August 2, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Win U.P. Zone Five Championship
Sunday July 29, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Settle For Split At U.P. Zone Finals
Thursday July 26, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Pound Menominee In Season Finale
Tuesday July 24, 2012
Eskymo David Falish Named Academic All-Stater
Monday July 23, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Split Four Games In Sault Ste. Marie
Saturday July 7, 2012
One That Got Away: Kimberly Rally Stuns Escanaba
Saturday June 30, 2012
Esky Cubs Blanked In Kimberly Tourney Opener
Friday June 29, 2012
Lamb Shuts Down Marquette As Cubs Post 3-0 Win
Wednesday June 27, 2012
Escanaba Junior Cubs Sweep Twinbill In Daggett
Monday June 25, 2012
Mistake-Prone Cubs Lose Twice; Out of Tourney
Saturday June 23, 2012
Esky Cubs Blank Soo Canada For Tournament Split
Friday June 22, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Rally For Wild Win In Marquette
Tuesday June 19, 2012
Escanaba Eskymos Celebrate Successful Season
Tuesday June 19, 2012
Escanaba Junior Cubs Get Fathers Day DH Sweep
Sunday June 17, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Open Season With Five In Green Bay
Sunday June 17, 2012
2012 FINAL ESKYMO BASEBALL STATS
Sunday June 17, 2012
2012 ESKYMO BASEBALL ROSTER
Sunday June 17, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Season Ends In Regional Semifinal
Sunday June 10, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Prepares For Regional Challenge
Friday June 8, 2012
District Champs! Eskymos Finally Put It Together
Monday June 4, 2012
Eskymo District Playoff Games Rained Out In Soo
Saturday June 2, 2012
Weyers Complete Game Leads Tribe Past Eskymos
Thursday May 31, 2012
Eskymos Drop Two Of Three In Sault Ste. Marie
Sunday May 27, 2012
Eskymos Top Miners Under Gale Force Winds, 15-8
Thursday May 24, 2012
Eskymos Rally To Salvage Third Place In Tourney
Saturday May 19, 2012
Errors Costly Again As Eskymos Blow Late Lead
Thursday May 17, 2012
Mercy Killing: Eskymos Finish Zero-For-Wisconsin
Tuesday May 15, 2012
Eskymos Sweep Mistake-Prone Sault Blue Devils
Saturday May 12, 2012
Eskymos Overcome Mistakes; Win In Marquette
Thursday May 10, 2012
Indians Hang On To Beat Eskymos In Rivalry Battle
Wednesday May 9, 2012
DeHaan, Kleiman Lead Eskymos To Tourney Sweep
Sunday May 6, 2012
Eskymos Start Fast But Fall Again In Wisconsin 6-5
Friday May 4, 2012
Olsen Leads Eskymos To 12-2 Win At Stephenson
Wednesday May 2, 2012
Eskymos Beat Saginaw; Nearly Topple Mt. Pleasant
Sunday April 29, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Prepares For Saginaw Showcase
Friday April 27, 2012
Eskymos Rally For Walk-Off Win Over Negaunee
Thursday April 26, 2012
Eskymos Top Stephenson In Sloppy Baseball Match
Tuesday April 24, 2012
Eskymos Struck By Lightning Twice In Appleton
Saturday April 21, 2012
Eskymos Rally To Beat Kingsford In Cold Rain
Friday April 20, 2012
Eskymos Shivver, Roll Past Norway Again, 17-0
Tuesday April 17, 2012
Eskymos Suffer Power Outage In Loss To Shawano
Saturday April 14, 2012
Delta County Boy Scouts Help Eskymos With Flag
Saturday April 14, 2012
Eskymos Sweep Rudyard To Start Big Homestand
Friday April 13, 2012
Escanaba Eskymos Rip Norway To Go To 2-0
Wednesday April 11, 2012
Eskymos Open Season With Win Over Marquette
Tuesday April 10, 2012
Young Eskymos Ready For 2012 Baseball Season
Sunday April 8, 2012
Schwalbach Hired As New Eskymo Baseball Coach
Saturday March 17, 2012
Eskymo Baseball, Softball Teams Start Practice
Friday March 16, 2012