News ticker

1237 articles
Wednesday August 27, 2014
Eskymos Open Season With Win Over Marquette

ESCANABA---The 2012 high school baseball season began on a positive note for the Escanaba Eskymos on Tuesday, as they beat the Marquette Redmen, 12-2, at Al Ness Field.

Austin Young had a home run and drove in three runs, and Nick Vandermissen had four runs batted in as the Eskymos stayed perfect in the all-time series against the new Redmen program. Eskymo Coach Kirk Schwalbach said it was great to just get a game in.
 

"The kids get complacent, they get bored with practices and scrimmages," he said. "We have so much work to do. But I'm happy with the way the kids played. I was pleasantly surprised with where we're at right now."
 

Sophomore Ben Kleiman got the start on the mound, and he got into trouble in the first inning as Mike House and Nathan LaMora got hits and Connor Brazeau walked on four pitches. But Kleiman...a transfer from Bark River-Harris High School...struck out Gabe Apple to end the threat unscathed.
 

 


Alternative content

Ben Kleiman Big 'K'

"I knew that I really didn't want to give up a run," Kleiman said. "So, I kept talking to myself in my head to keep calm."
 

"He kept his composure," Schwalbach said about Kleiman. "For a sophomore, that's good to see. He doesn't play like a sophomore though. We saw him in basketball season. He plays like a junior or senior, and he's not intimidated by anybody. So, I'm proud of Ben."
 

In the bottom of the first inning, Alex DeHaan drove in Kleiman, and then when David Falish got a base hit, the ball was missplayed in the outfield and DeHaan scored all the way from first base. It was 2-0 Esky.
 

In the second inning, Young had an RBI single over the left fielder's head, Vandermissen had a blooper to right field that brought in two runs, and then DeHaan ripped a bad-hop single past the third baseman for another run.
 

Marquette got a run back in the third inning when LaMora doubled and scored on a single by Ryan Frasier. But in the bottom of the inning, Young ripped a two-run home run to left field to make it 8-1.

 


Alternative content

Austin Young Homer

That homer came despite the fact that the kids are using new, safer bats this year that supposedly will cut down on line drives...and on long home runs.
 

"You can hit home runs, but you've got to hit 'em good," Schwalbach said. "Austin's a strong kid. Everyone knows how athletic he is. We had a 40 mile per hour wind blowing out to left, but it didn't help that one. His was definitely a shot."
 

After Frasier drove in another run in the fifth inning for the Redmen, the Eskymos ended the game on the mercy rule with three runs in the bottom of the inning. Two of them scored on Vandermissen's second hit, and the last came home on a Bailey Lamb base hit to left with the bases loaded.

 

The Eskymos had 15 hits in all, with Young and Kleiman each getting three. Vandermissen, DeHaan, and Falish all had two hits. Marquette had five hits altogether, with Frasier and LaMora each getting two.
 

On the mound, Kleiman worked three innings to get the win. He allowed four hits, one run, struck out six and walked one. Devin Olsen relieved, and yielded one run on one hit in two innings of work. Brett Beauchamp took the loss for Marquette, allowing eight runs on ten hits in three innings.
 

"I felt good," Kleiman said. "I had to work out the kinks at the start, but I settled down. It was realy cold, (but) we were all itching to get out there."
 

The Eskymos travel to Norway on Wednesday. The Knights split a doubleheader with Stephenson on Tuesday, losing the opener, 2-1, before winning the nightcap, 22-2.

Game time is 5:00 ET. The game will be broadcast live on WCHT-AM (600), and on-line at www.rrnsports.com.





Alternative content

Alternative content

Alternative content





Choose team:
Date Time Opponent Score Record
4/10
5:30 PM
Marquette Redmen
12 - 2 (W)
1-0
4/11
5:00 PM
at Norway Knights
13 - 0 (W)
2-0
4/13
4:00 PM
Rudyard Bulldogs
9 - 0 (W)
3-0
4/13
6:30 PM
Rudyard Bulldogs
9 - 4 (W)
4-0
4/14
12:30 PM
Shawano Hawks
1 - 7 (L)
4-1
4/14
3:00 PM
Shawano Hawks
0 - 1 (L)
4-2
4/17
5:30 PM
Norway Knights
17 - 0 (W)
5-2
4/19
6:00 PM
Kingsford Legion Blues
14 - 7 (W)
6-2
4/21
1:00 PM
at Appleton North Lightning
3 - 7 (L)
6-3
4/21
3:30 PM
at Appleton North Lightning
1 - 12 (L)
6-4
4/24
6:00 PM
Stephenson Eagles
14 - 4 (W)
7-4
4/26
5:00 PM
Negaunee Miners
6 - 5 (W)
8-4
4/28
12:00 PM
at Saginaw Heritage Hawks
7 - 3 (W)
9-4
4/28
2:30 PM
at Mt. Pleasant Oilers
2 - 5 (L)
9-5
5/2
6:00 PM
at Stephenson Eagles
12 - 2 (W)
10-5
5/4
5:30 PM
at DePere Redbirds
5 - 6 (L)
10-6
5/5
12:30 PM
Negaunee Miners
3 - 2 (W)
11-6
5/5
5:00 PM
Marquette Redmen
7 - 1 (W)
12-6
5/9
7:30 PM
at Gladstone Indians
4 - 5 (L)
12-7
5/10
5:30 PM
at Marquette Redmen
14 - 3 (W)
13-7
5/12
12:00 PM
Sault Ste. Marie Blue Devils
11 - 3 (W)
14-7
5/12
2:20 PM
Sault Ste. Marie Blue Devils
10 - 0 (W)
15-7
5/15
5:00 PM
at Marinette Marines
3 - 13 (L)
15-8
5/17
6:00 PM
at Kingsford Legion Blues
7 - 8 (L)
15-9
5/18
7:00 PM
Alpena Wildcats
8 - 2 (W)
16-9
5/19
12:30 PM
Petoskey Northmen
2 - 4 (L)
16-10
5/19
5:00 PM
Negaunee Miners
6 - 3 (W)
17-10
5/24
5:00 PM
at Negaunee Miners
15 - 8 (W)
18-10
5/26
10:00 AM
at Shepherd
5 - 6 (L)
18-11
5/26
12:00 PM
at Alpena Wildcats
9 - 0 (W)
19-11
5/26
2:30 PM
at Sault Ste. Marie Blue Devils
5 - 6 (L)
19-12
5/30
6:00 PM
Gladstone Indians
3 - 4 (L)
19-13
6/4
2:30 PM
at Cheboygan Chiefs
9 - 7 (W)
20-13
6/4
6:00 PM
at Petoskey Northmen
9 - 2 (W)
21-13
6/9
12:30 PM
at Remus Chippewa Hills
1 - 8 (L)
21-14



2012 ESCANABA CUBS TEAM ROSTER
Sunday August 26, 2012
Up-And-Down Cubs Season Ends In Shutout Loss
Friday August 3, 2012
Cubs Blow 5-0 Lead; Fall In Ten At State Tourney
Thursday August 2, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Win U.P. Zone Five Championship
Sunday July 29, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Settle For Split At U.P. Zone Finals
Thursday July 26, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Pound Menominee In Season Finale
Tuesday July 24, 2012
Eskymo David Falish Named Academic All-Stater
Monday July 23, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Split Four Games In Sault Ste. Marie
Saturday July 7, 2012
One That Got Away: Kimberly Rally Stuns Escanaba
Saturday June 30, 2012
Esky Cubs Blanked In Kimberly Tourney Opener
Friday June 29, 2012
Lamb Shuts Down Marquette As Cubs Post 3-0 Win
Wednesday June 27, 2012
Escanaba Junior Cubs Sweep Twinbill In Daggett
Monday June 25, 2012
Mistake-Prone Cubs Lose Twice; Out of Tourney
Saturday June 23, 2012
Esky Cubs Blank Soo Canada For Tournament Split
Friday June 22, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Rally For Wild Win In Marquette
Tuesday June 19, 2012
Escanaba Eskymos Celebrate Successful Season
Tuesday June 19, 2012
Escanaba Junior Cubs Get Fathers Day DH Sweep
Sunday June 17, 2012
Escanaba Cubs Open Season With Five In Green Bay
Sunday June 17, 2012
2012 FINAL ESKYMO BASEBALL STATS
Sunday June 17, 2012
2012 ESKYMO BASEBALL ROSTER
Sunday June 17, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Season Ends In Regional Semifinal
Sunday June 10, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Prepares For Regional Challenge
Friday June 8, 2012
District Champs! Eskymos Finally Put It Together
Monday June 4, 2012
Eskymo District Playoff Games Rained Out In Soo
Saturday June 2, 2012
Weyers Complete Game Leads Tribe Past Eskymos
Thursday May 31, 2012
Eskymos Drop Two Of Three In Sault Ste. Marie
Sunday May 27, 2012
Eskymos Top Miners Under Gale Force Winds, 15-8
Thursday May 24, 2012
Eskymos Rally To Salvage Third Place In Tourney
Saturday May 19, 2012
Falish, Skufca Lead Eskymos To Victory
Friday May 18, 2012
Errors Costly Again As Eskymos Blow Late Lead
Thursday May 17, 2012
Mercy Killing: Eskymos Finish Zero-For-Wisconsin
Tuesday May 15, 2012
Eskymos Sweep Mistake-Prone Sault Blue Devils
Saturday May 12, 2012
Eskymos Overcome Mistakes; Win In Marquette
Thursday May 10, 2012
Indians Hang On To Beat Eskymos In Rivalry Battle
Wednesday May 9, 2012
DeHaan, Kleiman Lead Eskymos To Tourney Sweep
Sunday May 6, 2012
Eskymos Start Fast But Fall Again In Wisconsin 6-5
Friday May 4, 2012
Olsen Leads Eskymos To 12-2 Win At Stephenson
Wednesday May 2, 2012
Eskymos Beat Saginaw; Nearly Topple Mt. Pleasant
Sunday April 29, 2012
Eskymo Baseball Prepares For Saginaw Showcase
Friday April 27, 2012
Eskymos Rally For Walk-Off Win Over Negaunee
Thursday April 26, 2012
Eskymos Top Stephenson In Sloppy Baseball Match
Tuesday April 24, 2012
Eskymos Struck By Lightning Twice In Appleton
Saturday April 21, 2012
Eskymos Rally To Beat Kingsford In Cold Rain
Friday April 20, 2012
Eskymos Shivver, Roll Past Norway Again, 17-0
Tuesday April 17, 2012
Eskymos Suffer Power Outage In Loss To Shawano
Saturday April 14, 2012
Delta County Boy Scouts Help Eskymos With Flag
Saturday April 14, 2012
Eskymos Sweep Rudyard To Start Big Homestand
Friday April 13, 2012
Escanaba Eskymos Rip Norway To Go To 2-0
Wednesday April 11, 2012
Young Eskymos Ready For 2012 Baseball Season
Sunday April 8, 2012
Schwalbach Hired As New Eskymo Baseball Coach
Saturday March 17, 2012
Eskymo Baseball, Softball Teams Start Practice
Friday March 16, 2012