News ticker

3149 articles
Friday May 25, 2018
Norse Women Beat Marinette With Late Rally 62-47

MARINETTE, Wis.---The Bay College women’s basketball team got quite a battle from the UW-Marinette Buccaneers Wednesday night, but the Norse finished strong to pick up the road victory, 62-47.

The Norse trailed, 41-35, early in the fourth quarter, and leading scorer Jordan Kraemer was on the bench with four fouls.

But Justice Kinnunen and Cailtlin Hewitt both made clutch three-point baskets, and the Norse switched to a 1-3-1 zone defense that caused the Bucs big problems.

The result was a 27-6 run to end the game, and the Norse improved to 12-10 on the season.

Bay had a 26-13 lead in the second quarter after Paige Welch scored on a rebound.

After Marinette scored seven straight points, Kinnunen nailed a triple to make it 29-20. The Bucs battled back to within 31-27 at halftime, and then after Kraemer picked up her fourth foul, the Norse offense went cold, scoring zero points over the final six minutes of the third quarter. Kraemer returned to the floor wioth 7:35 left in the game, and the Norse were able to regroup and regain control of the game.

This was a far cry from the blowout that the Norse inflicted on Marinette back on Nov. 1.

Since that time, the Bucs added a couple of players and won ten games in their Wisconsin conference. Katelyn Kuffell led the Bucs (10-7) with 13 points.

Four Norse players scored in double figures: Kraemer had 13 points while Hewitt and Kinunen each added 11. Teidra Fuson had ten points, including six free throws.

Bay College has three games left in its season, with a home game set for this Friday night against Silver Lake College. Game time is 6:00.

The game will be broadcast live on WMXG-FM (Maverick 106.3).

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos and video highlights from the contest.







Choose team:
No schedule entries



Gogebic Women Win; Advance To Nationals, 94-82
Saturday March 10, 2018
Gogebic Women Win Regional Championship 86-67
Saturday March 3, 2018
THAT'S A WRAP: Bay Women Finish Strong, 69-58
Saturday February 24, 2018
WINNING SEASON CLINCHER: Norse Secure #13
Friday February 16, 2018
Bay College Women Cruise Past Manitowoc, 54-36
Wednesday January 31, 2018
Robinette Signs To Play Basketball For Bay College
Thursday January 25, 2018
Gogebic Women Dominate Norse In First Meeting
Wednesday January 24, 2018
BOUNCING BACK: Norse Women Win Tenth Game
Sunday January 21, 2018
Norse Women Fall Short In Comeback Effort, 78-65
Saturday January 20, 2018
Norse Open Busy Stretch With Easy Victory, 87-38
Wednesday January 17, 2018
Norse Rally Falls Short In 69-60 Loss To Marathon
Monday January 8, 2018
POWER OUTAGE: Slow Start Dooms Norse Women
Friday January 5, 2018
Kraemer's Big Game Not Enough For Norse In Loss
Saturday December 30, 2017
Kraemer, Belleville Lead Norse Past Alpena, 69-37
Friday December 29, 2017
HOME AWAY FROM HOME: Bay Ladies Hang On
Saturday December 16, 2017
Bay Norse Women Cruise Past Western Tech, 63-40
Friday December 15, 2017
ROAD WARRIORS: Norse Women Outlast Alpena
Wednesday December 6, 2017
Bay College Women Battle Past St. Clair CC, 64-58
Saturday December 2, 2017
Bay Women Can't Hold Big Lead Downstate, 66-62
Friday December 1, 2017
North Dickinson's Wickman Signs With Bay College
Monday November 27, 2017
Norse Women Overwhelmed By #6 Highland, 74-36
Sunday November 26, 2017
OVERTIME WINNER: Bay Ladies Slip Past Hibbing
Saturday November 25, 2017
Gladstone Girls Sign To Play Hoops At Bay College
Monday November 20, 2017
Bay College Women Slowed By MMCC Lakers 67-41
Saturday November 11, 2017
Bay College Women Cruise Past Alpena CC, 82-57
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Women Victims Of Fatigue, North Iowa Triples
Saturday November 4, 2017
Kraemer's 27 Not Enough For Bay Women In Iowa
Friday November 3, 2017
OPENING NIGHT FUN: Bay Ladies Beat Marinette
Wednesday November 1, 2017