News ticker

3352 articles
Monday October 22, 2018
SECOND HALF RALLY: Norse Top JV Lakers 92-81

SAULT STE. MARIE---The Drive For Twenty continues.

The Bay College Norse men's basketball team rallied from 16 points down in the second half to beat the Lake Superior State University Junior Lakers, 92-81, Monday eveing  in Sault Ste. Marie. The Lakers had three players from their varsity team included on the JV roster, which made for a different opponent than the one the Norse faced earlier this season. Bay won that game by 19 points, but this one had a different storyline.

And for much of the evening, the Norse were on the short end of the stick.

But the Norse ramped up the defense and Dre Tuominen had a second half performance that Coach Matt Johnson called "incredible" and special on the offensive end of the court.

Tuominen scored 28 of his game-high 37 points in the second half, and he added eleven rebounds and five assists in his best game in a Norse uniform. The Norse win keeps the team's goal of a 20-win season alive. At 18-9, Bay needs to win two of its last three games to meet that goal.

The LSSU juniors got a boost from varsity player Brandon Allen, who nailed seven three-point baskets in the first half to help the home team take a 47-37 lead into the locker room.

Equally as difficult to deal with was big-man Jackson Schrameyer, who scored 35 points, grabbed 14 rebounds, and had six slam dunk baskets. But Norse center Kobi Barnes helped to slow Schrameyer down at times, and the comeback began.

Tuominen nailed three triples in the second half, and including one that put the Norse ahead to stay, 78-75, with six minutes left on the clock.

Garrett Finkbeiner also sank a big triple moments before that to lift the team into a tie. Barnes went to work inside and scored eight points, finishing with a total of 18 (along with eight rebounds).

Allen finished with 26 points, but Tuominen held him to five points in the second half.

The Norse continue their three-game road swing with a game in Appleton Wednesday night against the Lawrence University JV Vikings. Game time is 7:00 Eastern. It will be broadcast live on WMXG-FM (Maverick 106.3).

Click the thumbnails in the ARTICLE HIGHLIGHTS box above to see photos, video highlights. Also click the AUDIO buttons to hear interviews with Tuominen and Johnson, and Darien Nichols' halftime interview.









Choose team:
No schedule entries



STAYING HOME: Robinette Playing Hoops At Bay
Thursday April 19, 2018
Bark River's Arndt Officially Signs To Play With Bay
Thursday April 12, 2018
Bay College Celebrates Successful 1st Sports Seasons
Tuesday April 10, 2018
FANTASTIC FINISH! Norse Close Season With Win
Saturday February 24, 2018
MISSION ACCOMPLISHED: Norse Win 20th Game
Friday February 16, 2018
Norse Cruise Past Lawrence For 19th Victory, 69-63
Wednesday February 14, 2018
Barnes, Willette Lead Norse To 92-86 Overtime Win
Saturday February 10, 2018
ROUGH NIGHT: Norse Suffer Pair Of Home Losses
Friday February 9, 2018
PAYBACKS AGAIN: Norse Outlast Marinette, 83-76
Wednesday February 7, 2018
SWEET REVENGE: Norse Battle Past Finlandia U.
Saturday February 3, 2018
PAINT DOMINATION! Norse Slide Past Manitowoc
Wednesday January 31, 2018
TRIPLE OT HEARTBREAK: Norse Drop Marathon
Wednesday January 24, 2018
Big First Half Propels Bay Past Sault College 86-77
Wednesday January 17, 2018
BOMBS AWAY! Finlandia Triples Sink Norse, 97-77
Saturday January 13, 2018
Barnes, Fields Help Norse Men Slip Past Silver Lake
Friday January 5, 2018
GETTING TOUGH: Norse Overcome Alpena, Injury
Friday December 29, 2017
WAKE UP CALL: Bay Rally Overwhelms Silver Lake
Saturday December 16, 2017
STRONG FINISH: Norse Overcome Three-Pointers
Friday December 15, 2017
SPREADING THE WEALTH: Norse Cruise, 102-64
Saturday December 9, 2017
DEFENSIVE WINNER: Norse Shake Off Slow Start
Wednesday December 6, 2017
HILL TOO HIGH: Norse Men Fall At St. Clair 83-69
Saturday December 2, 2017
Nationally-Ranked Mott Overwhelms Norse, 80-61
Friday December 1, 2017
FAST START: Norse Win Streak Reaches Six, 70-58
Sunday November 26, 2017
Norse Men Hit Century Mark For Fifth Straight Win
Saturday November 25, 2017
CRUISE CONTROL: Norse Men Top Lake State JV's
Monday November 20, 2017
DOWN TO THE WIRE: Norse Rally Past Fox Valley
Tuesday November 14, 2017
Norse Outlast Mid-Michigan For Second Win, 73-62
Saturday November 11, 2017
FINALLY! Norse Top Alpena For First Victory 87-68
Wednesday November 8, 2017
Bay Norse Men Come Up Short In OT Again, 93-87
Saturday November 4, 2017
OH, SO CLOSE AGAIN! Norse Men Lose Late 67-65
Friday November 3, 2017
Bay College Basketball Travels To Iowa For Tourney
Thursday November 2, 2017
OVERTIME THRILLER: Marinette Rallies Past Bay
Wednesday November 1, 2017
Wildcats Beat Norse In Basketball Tune-Up, 107-68
Sunday October 29, 2017
Bay College Norse Basketball Preparing For Seasons
Wednesday October 18, 2017
Norse Reveal Basketball Schedules; Tickets On Sale
Wednesday September 27, 2017
Bay College, YMCA Unveil Renovated Gym Facilities
Wednesday August 30, 2017